Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Timers not starting on time  (Read 7987 times)

roger hachey

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Timers not starting on time
« on: February 05, 2005, 09:35:41 AM »

Since 3.177 through 3.179 timers are all
timers are starting 54 sec late.  If I go
back to 3.175 all timers work perfectly as
soon as I download the update the  timers
start 54 sec late
Logged

donald mcmow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 306
Re: Timers not starting on time
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2005, 10:09:54 AM »

The CM15a Time is not being set to the
SECOND - as such your times may be out by
up to 59 seconds. Since the CM15a is being
set by your computers clock but only the
hours and minutes are being used to set the
time. Don't worry about it unless you need
it accurate to the second. Most alarm
clocks are only set with an accuracy to the
minute - even if you were to get a
dedicated timer, your accuracy is only to
the minute. You have to remember for that
for 59 seconds it is still what ever the
minute is.
Logged

donald mcmow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 306
Re: Timers not starting on time
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2005, 10:11:51 AM »

Forgot to add - a change was made to AHP
that deleted Time settings for seconds.
Only Hours and Minutes are being set now.
Logged

me too

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 38
Re: Timers not starting on time
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2005, 12:44:26 PM »

I noticed that same thing.  All events seem
about a minute late. Why would they make this
change?
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Timers not starting on time
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2005, 03:16:40 PM »

I gather it was some sort of bug fix, but
why doesn't make any sense.
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Timers not starting on time
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2005, 03:56:37 PM »

You can get the timers to fire off more
accurately by watching the system clock and
not downloading until the clock is about to
turn over to the next minute.

It appears the CM15A clock is set at the
conclusion of the download (as well as at
other times) and I can usually get it to
within a few seconds by downloading twice -
the first time just to measure how long the
download takes.
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

SteveRF

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 13
  • Posts: 410
Re: Timers not starting on time
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2005, 04:32:18 PM »

Charles...
Good point about timing the download and
running the download process at an
appropriate time so as to set the near
correct time internal to the cm15a...great idea !
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Timers not starting on time
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2005, 12:18:37 AM »

I should mention that I unplug the USB cable
after downloading.  I'm not sure what other
events might cause AHP to reset the CM15A
clock (at the wrong number of seconds).
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Burdy

  • Guest
Re: Timers not starting on time
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2005, 12:49:06 AM »

I noticed that the CM15A's clock gets set
every time you merely select the Tools-
>Hardware Configuration window (note, you
do not have to even save anything on the
hardware configuration menu-- just
displaying the hardware configuration
causes the CM15A's clock to take its HH:MM
from the PC).  And the seconds do appear to
be getting set when this happens, however
always to 00.

If you want to view the time (including
seconds) of the CM15A's clock, you can get
it from the File-Reports-Status page (the
time appears in bold without the seconds,
and in smaller type with seconds a few
lines below).  It will be a snapshot of the
CM15A's HH:MM:SS at approximately the time
you click on 'Status'.  I also think that
inserting the USB cable into the CM15A
(with AHP running on the PC)also can cause
the clock to get set.

If you do the timer download first, then
select Tools-> Hardware Configuration just
as the PC clock's minutes roll over, with a
little practice you can get its time
settting to within a few seconds of the
PC's clock.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.