Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Inconsistant clock  (Read 2524 times)

chuck wirtz

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Inconsistant clock
« on: March 29, 2005, 05:57:13 PM »

Initial setup lights work fine a few days
later they are coming on at all different
times
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Inconsistant clock
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2005, 10:43:42 AM »

Chuck:  There is a well-known hardware
design flaw with the clock inside the CM15a
that makes it possible for the clock to
gain time if there is the right type of
electrical noise on the powerline.  X10
hasnít commented on this.  My suggestion is
to put X10 filters on equipment that can
generate electrical noise (computers, TVs,
motors, etc.).  This is always a good idea
anyway.  It is a tough problem to track
down, but other than using a different
controller, it is about the only thing you
can do.
Logged

donald mcmow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 306
Re: Inconsistant clock
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2005, 03:58:28 AM »

This problem can also affect other plug-in
clocks that use the A/C powerline to
generate the signal to generate
the "seconds" for counting. It depends upon
the way the signal is filtered. Since the
X10 protocal uses the A/C sin wave to sense
and transmit it's signal, there is less
filtering to combat inadvertant signal
counts. This may result in noise being
counted as a full second rather than being
rejected. Over time these counts add up and
result in the internal CM15A clock being
inaccurate as compared to your computers
clock. Periodic connection of the computer
will result in the 2 clocks being re-synced
to-gether.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.