Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6

Author Topic: Daylight Savings - NOT!  (Read 131584 times)

andyd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 82
Daylight Savings - NOT!
« on: April 04, 2005, 08:23:13 AM »

Saturday midnight my timed event worked on
schedule. Sunday morning my timed event was
1 hour early. Sunday midnight again 1 hour
early. Ah yes - daylight savings change.

Trouble is I'm in Arizona and we don't do
daylight savings time.  My computer is set
to MST and the interface configuration
reports MST is set and shows the correct
time.

Why were my events an hour off?

I just reset the time so maybe it will work
right until the next time change?

Andy D
Logged

andyd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 82
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2005, 08:35:47 AM »

More info -
OS Windows ME
Time zone GMT-7 Arizona
automatic DST checked but grey as not
applicable to this time zone.

It seems AHP is using the auto DST flag even
though it is not appropriate for the
selected time zone.

Andy D
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2005, 01:04:04 PM »

AndyD: It could be that we aren't using all
the information Windows is giving us. I'll
look into it.
Logged

coder since cp290

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 37
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2005, 05:00:42 PM »

X10 Pro
As I said in another thread, I too live in AZ
and saw the same behavior as AndyD.  All
timed events now trigger one hour early.
This is with a dianostic unti
Logged

coder since cp290

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 37
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2005, 07:10:58 PM »

Based on the format of the data sent to the
cm15a to set the time, there is no provision
for "use DST" or "Don't use DST".

So, unless there's a change in the protocol,
DST changes will probably be an issue for
anyone living in a place that doesn't observe
DST.  That's only 6 million people in AZ and
Indiana, and HI (in the US), and included the
5th largest city in the US!

If this data is indeed being passed to the
cm15a, which command is it in X10pro? (I'm
talking at the USB level)
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2005, 12:12:32 AM »

And in Canada you have the 979,000 people
in Saskatchewan. ;)
Logged

holger

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 36
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2005, 05:46:49 AM »

To all who have DST problems.
Yes You are all right and X10 schould
incorporate an otpion, ie. a checker box to
select DST - on or off, as on the old CM11
S/W.

X10 is referencing in the Main Forum to a
user in Germany, its me:
Yes DST change worked perfect 26/27th of
March - dusk/dawn times were still perfect.

I must admid that I updated the CM15A in the
morning after the GMT Timechange to set the
CM15A Clock. So I cannot confirm that my
CM15A did it automatically.
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2005, 10:08:43 AM »

The AHPro S/W shouldn’t need to have a
check box to select DST as there is one in
Windows that can be used.  I gather that
was their intent, but something isn’t
working properly.

AndyD:  What happens if you select (GMT-
07:00) Mountain Time (US&Canada) instead
and then uncheck the DST box?  I suspect
that AHPro is seeing the checkmark in the
box even though it is disabled.  This is a
bug which should be fixed, but a work
around would be useful I am sure.
Logged

andyd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 82
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2005, 12:09:58 PM »

It may be interesting that the hardware
configuration time zone shows Mountain, when
the PC time zone is GMT-7 Arizona.  Perhaps
the interface does not recognize these as
different time zones.

Logged

andyd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 82
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2005, 12:14:24 PM »

Roger H.  I did that after I had connected
and removed the interface so maybe I'll find
out if it works in October, or whenever the
next time change is.

It seems the problem is fixed as soon as the
interface is connected as it resyncs to the
actual PC time.  I assume the problem only
happens if the interface is disconnected at
the DST roll over.  My timed events are
correct now.


Andy D
Logged

X10 Pro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 23
  • Posts: 1416
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2005, 12:36:39 PM »

I'm pretty sure the problem is that we're
storing DST change dates for Arizona when we
shouldn't be. We'll fix this soon. Too late
for the change, but at least it will be right
in October.
Logged

Max DST

  • Guest
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2005, 12:51:13 AM »

It's obvious, the problem is as plain as
the nose on your face.   All you dummy's
that live in a "non-DST" area need to move
if you want to continue using the X10 AHP
solution..........   Move to a more
sophisticated location that is cool with
changing time to accomodate more outdoor
living......  What's an hour ???? !!!!!!
Logged

roger1818

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 1072
  • Roger H.
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2005, 10:29:07 AM »

Max:  LOL.  This whole DST topic made me
realize that changing to DST is completely
useless for people who live in (and near)
the Tropics (and Arctic).  If the sun rises
at 6:00am and sets at 6:00pm all year long,
why bother changing your clock in the
summer.  Cuba probably has it right to be
on DST all year long (having the sun rise
and set at 7:00 makes more sense).
Similarly in the Arctic who cares what time
it is if the sun is up all day long in the
summer and set all day long in winter.  Now
I am not sure if that is why Arizona does
not switch to DST, but it is interesting.
Logged

Bob Taylor

  • Guest
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2005, 02:24:35 PM »

DST changes used to be beneficial, though
I'd vote to just stop changing or change to
DST then leave it there, lot of work with
little or no benefit.    Till this happens
though, X10 should clean up AHP, seems
silly that they did not catch this one.....
Logged

donald mcmow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 306
Re: Daylight Savings - NOT!
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2005, 10:37:29 AM »

One thing that should be happening is to
let the operating system take care of any
time changes. AHP should only have to deal
with getting the time into the CM15A - a
seperate clock should not have to be
maintained within the program - let windows
worry about the clock - makes things a lot
less difficult and time consuming.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.