Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: 2 problems  (Read 41676 times)

sylvain bombardier

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 5
Re: 2 problems
« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2005, 11:17:49 PM »

Hyrules, I had similar problems with ghosts
turning on my lights at night. After many
trials and errors and many bucks in filters
I found it. Defective X10 light switches!
Unfortunately, the bargain switches sold
here are often the cause of the problem
itself. Try replacing some switches by the
SwitchLinc model sold at SmartHome. It seems
also that the more switches you have, the
more likely this ghost lighting phenomenon
is to show up. Ten X10 pro switches seems to
be the limit in my case. More than that and
lights start to turn on in the middle of the
night (I have 15 X10 switches around the
house, 10 of them are X10 pro).

In hope this will help you a bit.

Sylvain Bombardier
Logged

donald mcmow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 306
Re: 2 problems
« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2005, 11:35:27 PM »

Any electronic device will generate RF
noise - as that seems to be what is
indicated here. This could be anything -
don't just say that since something is
plugged in all of the time that it couldn't
be the source. Some devices will only
generate noise at a particular time in
their operating cycle - firdges and
freezers when the cooling system is
actually working. A TV might create alot
more noise on a particulr channel verus
others. And yes, even an alarm clock could
be the culpret. An AM radio might help you
narrow down the source but then again it
might not - some devices are pretty good at
being RF sheilded but are the pits when it
comes to noise on the powerlines. It all
comes down to how much time you want to
spend on tracking down the source. You
might even find out that the source is
outside your home - from a nieghbour's
house or the buisness down the block. The
power company can only do so much filtering
and tweaking of the transformers before the
power gets to you. How many motors,
transformers and miles of wire are between
you and the generating station that can
pickup RF signals, lightening strikes,
shorted lines and other problems before we
get our power to use. It's amazing that we
get the power that we need.
Logged

hyrules

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2 problems
« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2005, 08:12:55 AM »

Well it seems that there where no ghost
lurking around my electricity last night. I
hope it will stay that way. I know that my
computers are generating noise because i
have alot of device plugged in ill hope for
the best in the next few days if not then
i'll buy a couple of noise filter.
Logged

carmine pacifico

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 194
Re: 2 problems
« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2005, 11:23:42 AM »

Hyrules

Have a look at this web site, X10 WS467 is notorious for turning on at random, Mr. Bartana has a fix for it (and many other flaky X10 products), it appears that X10 engineers need to learn electronics 101: unused pins must be terminated. http://www.idobartana.com/hakb/index.htm

If you are spending hundreds of dollars in home automation products I would suggest investing in a meter like the ASM1 from Elk product, not every problem can be blamed on X10.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2009, 04:08:10 AM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged

hyrules

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 25
Re: 2 problems
« Reply #19 on: May 09, 2005, 09:09:33 PM »

These fix looks interesting and easy to make.
I have extensive knowlegdge and experience
with electronic circuit and processor like
the PIC. Should be easy to do but since my
hardware is still on warranty i wont tamper
with those devices. Since last time, I've
updated my software and disable all the
transceived codes in the interface. I didn't
had any ghost with my bedroom light and all
my macros are workking well. It's most
practical to be able to turn off the lights
while in bed ( thus some might say i'm lazy
but i dont care) My setup is rather small
compared to you guys 6 Switches , 1 appliance
module , 2 lamp modules and a supersocket but
as of now i have to say that my CM15A has
work fairly well... sure i had problems but
things are kinda stable now.
Logged

denis

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: 2 problems
« Reply #20 on: September 04, 2005, 10:12:31 AM »

The activity monitor does record activity
but all
the units are working ok
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.