Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Help with light on all the time  (Read 4869 times)

Hawaiiduo

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Help with light on all the time
« on: December 09, 2007, 05:45:50 PM »

I installed a XPFM to my ceiling light.  The blue went to black on the light, the house black went to black on XPFM unit and all three whites in the same screw.  I used a RR501 and a SS13A remote to control the light.  I can hear the clicking sound on the RR501 and the XPFM when I turn on and off the SS13A.  However, I can't turn the light off.  I haven't put the light bulbs in yet but just checking with my meter, it stayed hot and didn't shot off.  Please help me, I am new to this but must have spent hours reading x10 stuff and finally figured out parts I needed.

I played with the XPFM some more.  The only thing I can think of is that the XPFM unit is defective.  It does make noise whenever I turn the SS13A unit off or on but the blue wire stays hot.  Is this a commom problem?

I must be doing something wrong here.  I took out the x10 stuff and put in a Hampton Bay Fan/Light remote  unit. I have the same problem, light on all the time.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2007, 12:30:51 AM by Hawaiiduo »

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: Help with light on all the time
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2007, 12:12:03 PM »

I installed a XPFM to my ceiling light.  The blue went to black on the light, the house black went to black on XPFM unit and all three whites in the same screw.  I used a RR501 and a SS13A remote to control the light.  I can hear the clicking sound on the RR501 and the XPFM when I turn on and off the SS13A.  However, I can't turn the light off.  I haven't put the light bulbs in yet but just checking with my meter, it stayed hot and didn't shot off. 
Try installing the lights, you might be measuring the "local sense" voltage. Search "local sense" or "local control" for more information.