Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?  (Read 6638 times)

maynardw

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?
« on: November 26, 2005, 04:02:31 PM »

Does this mean that I cannot run an
appliance that needs more than 500 watts ?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12830
Re: Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2005, 06:53:40 PM »

15 Amps for resistive loads like heaters.
1/3 Hp for motors
500 Watts for Incadescent Lamps.
400 watts for a TV
Logged

maynardw

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2005, 05:10:53 PM »

Brian H
Thanks, I never considered mho.
Logged

dick

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Re: Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2005, 09:04:52 PM »

I recently installed CFL in our garage.
When I first turn them on the are not as
bright as they are after they burn for a
few minutes.  Especially now that the
weather is cold.  Is this normal?
Logged

dick

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 47
Re: Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2005, 09:05:53 PM »

Sorry that was supposed to be  a new
post,but will await an answer
Logged

tommy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2005, 09:16:23 PM »

I have one in my warm basement and two in
outside porch lights where it cold (5 deg)
and in both locations they come on low and
get brighter in a couple of minutes -
typical.  They are not X10 controlled -
just normal switches.
Logged

tommy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 14
Re: Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2005, 09:16:33 PM »

I have one in my warm basement and two in
outside porch lights where it cold (5 deg)
and in both locations they come on low and
get brighter in a couple of minutes -
typical.  They are not X10 controlled -
just normal switches.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12830
Re: Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2005, 06:39:39 AM »

Dick; Yes normal. I have one brand inside my
home that actually is dim for a few minutes
before getting bright. Another brand is
almost full brightness at power up. Cold
makes it take longer and there are special
outside models for real cold stuff.
Logged

maynardw

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: Applianve Modules 15 Amps and 500 Watts ?
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2005, 06:15:54 PM »

The CFL that becomes bright at once was/is
known as the "electronic" type. The CFL
that starts off DIM and become brighter
was/is known as the "core and ballast" type
and maybe a little cheaper.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.