Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: TM751  (Read 3511 times)

smitty

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
TM751
« on: December 08, 2005, 12:09:32 AM »

I have recently purchased a few items from
X-10 for my home automation. A couple of
the items include the Remote/lamp
Module/Reciever TM751, I set up my outside
lights to operate with motion using the
Eagle Eye detector. Everything works good
with the exception of the motion picking up
the traffic coming down the road (I am on a
Main Highway) but this is an easy fix by
adjusting the sensor so it doesn't aim in
that direction. When the motion sensors
sends the signal for the lights to turn on
or off the TM751 has a loud click sound. I
have several other devices that I operate
with the remote and I never hear the
reciever activating. Any idea what could be
causing this noise?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12830
Re: TM751
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2005, 07:00:34 AM »

Yes. Normal sound. The TM751 has a ratchet
type switch in it that clunks on and off.
The ON OFF is for the House Code you have it
set to and preset to Unit 1. So if you are
using Houes Code D D1 On and D1 Off will
clunk this mechaincal switch. Note the
appliance modules and split wall outlets
also have this same type relay and also have
a loud clunk.
Logged

smitty

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: TM751
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2005, 10:56:18 PM »

I understand what you are saying. My
concern is that I dont hear the same noise
when I use my remote control to operate the
same lights. Why would the motin sensors do
it and not the remote? thanks for the quick
response.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12830
Re: TM751
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2005, 06:36:59 AM »

By remote. Are you talking about a tabletop
controller? Like the mini-controller? The
TM751 only receives RF signals and will not
respond to a powerline signal. So if you
send an on or off by an RF device [motion
sensor] it will follow the on or off if the
address is correct. If the on or off is a
powerline signal from a tabletop controller
even if the correct address is used; it will
not follow the signals.
If the remotes are also RF then can you tell
me if there are more than one RF receiver
and the model of the remote and motion
sensor.
Logged

j lawrence

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: TM751
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2005, 08:10:58 AM »

Correct me if am wrong but i think you
meant that when the motion sensors send its
signal, you hear the load clunk but when
you use your remote you don't.

The sensors use the number before and after
for dusk and dawn and to control another
device. i might have gotton that wrong but
i know they use a1 or whatever housecode
its set to for dusk dawn feature and to
turn on or off another device below or
above its set unit code.

The tm751 will only clunk when the (first)1
unit code is activated for eg. the tm751 is
set to house code c, then any signal to c1
will make it clunk.  All that does is turn
on and off any device thats actually
plugged into the tm751 so unless you have
something plugged in there then your
sensors are sending the signal.
either because its set to c1 (or whatever
the tm751 is set at or its sending the
signal to turn on or off another device
above or below which  would be c1 in this
case.

am going to stop, am not helping am i
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12830
Re: TM751
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2005, 09:54:19 AM »

Thanks for that extra data. The Dusk Dawn
thing is another posibility.
Logged

smitty

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: TM751
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2005, 12:38:02 PM »

Yes the unit is set for A1 which are what
the lights are addressed to. if I change
these to say A3 will it still chunk? Did I
understand correctly with being said that
the reason I hear the chunk is because it
is the first device A1 being activated?
Also the remote I am refering to is a
TV\CBL\X10 remote. I bought the remote,
TM751 and plug switch as a combo unit.
Also for the record the motion senosrs use
the address directly after the programmed
one for dusk/dawn feature. We found this
out by mistake. We just moved into new
house and after installing porch lights, I
put A2 in my hallway. It started getting
dark and we were all sitting on the couch
talking when the lights came on by them
selves. My kids flipped out. I thought they
were going to run out of the house. LOL
Smitty
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 291
  • Posts: 12830
Re: TM751
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2005, 12:54:41 PM »

Yes A1 [if the house code dial is on A] is
the address the TM751's internal realy turns
on and off to. So no A1 in the system. No
clunks with an A1 signal. Note the same
clunk will come from any appliance modules
you have and split outlets also that you
turn on and off. They also have the same
basic ratchet switch in them.
Logged

x10 nut

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 6
Re: TM751
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2005, 11:56:22 PM »

For follow-up clarification:
The dusk/dawn setting is the setting of the
motion sensor +1, not -1.
Also, Brian is correct, the TM751 will not
respond to signals from a table top
controller, only RF signals (motion
detector, wireless remote, keychain remote,
etc.).
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.