Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: start lamp modules dim  (Read 6524 times)

gregg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
start lamp modules dim
« on: December 10, 2005, 02:36:27 PM »

This seems simple, but I can't seem to get
it to work. In both ActiveHome and
ActiveHome Pro I'm trying to get a lamp
module to initially turn on dim at 20%,
then increase to 40% later, etc. Everything
I've tried causes the module to go on full
bright initially for a moment, then dims to
20%. Later increases are OK. How can I
eliminate to initial 100% brightness??
Logged

Bernie

  • Guest
Re: start lamp modules dim
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2005, 08:56:28 AM »

You won't be able to do what is called
a "soft start" or "ramp on" unless you use
the new X-10 module that does this or
purchase Smarthome modules, most have this
feature.
Logged

gregg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: start lamp modules dim
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2005, 06:34:19 PM »

Thanks for the reply - hadn't thought of
a "ramp on". But how about if I want to
turn a light on 50% and leave it. It seems
everthing I've tried causes the lamp to go
on full bright first, then dim to 50%. I'd
like it to go from off to 50%.
Logged

mike

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 27
Re: start lamp modules dim
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2005, 07:21:37 AM »

Dude. Didn't you just read the answer to
your question? You cannot do a soft start
unless you get a module that is designed to
do this. I feel your pain, but standard
modules will not do a soft start!
Logged

gregg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: start lamp modules dim
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2005, 05:48:17 PM »

What about no soft start - just straight
from off to 50% on. Everything I try to do
that goes from off to full bright, then
back to 50% on. Suppose you just watched a
movie with the lights off, you'd want to
turn them from off to 50%.
Logged

aaron

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 3
Re: start lamp modules dim
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2005, 07:05:52 PM »

I've got a lamp I do that with, using a
standard X10 lamp module.  Rather than
turning the module OFF in between, I dim it
100%.  For example, I have it turn on then
dim 100% at dusk; when motion is detected in
the room, I do a BRIGHT 40 rather than
turning it on, followed by a DIM 100 when I
want it back "off" (just to make sure it's
dimmed all the way down.)  Then, at sunrise,
I turn the lamp off.

Just my method of getting around the
restrictions of a standard module!

Aaron
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.