Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: X10and Smarthome products  (Read 5945 times)

Doug L

  • Guest
X10and Smarthome products
« on: December 24, 2005, 05:41:44 AM »

I ahbe a combination of these 2 products
and the comrollers and software seem to
work fine.
? is, will a x-10 remote, such a keychain,
work with an Insteon module?
Thaks and I hope everyone sets the motion
detectors NOT to catch Santa.
Doug
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12876
Re: X10and Smarthome products
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2005, 06:57:50 AM »

All the Insteon Modules and Switches can be
set with an X10 Primary Address and will
respond to X10 line signals. The newer ICONs
have one X10 Primary Address also. Scenes
maybe, depends on which spec sheet you read.
So if your remote through a Tranceiver sends
an X10 on or off signal on the primary
address the Insteon is on it will respond.
Logged

ronb

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: X10and Smarthome products
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2005, 01:29:32 AM »

Is there some a transponder that will talk
to my x10 garage opener so when only my car
pulls into the drive, the driveway lights
up, the house lights go on, and the garage
opens up, and if the ups or dhl or someone
pulls into the drive with out the
transponder nothing would happen. any
Ideas, ?
Ron
Logged

ray

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: X10and Smarthome products
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2006, 12:30:40 PM »

I would like to control some lights and
outlets in my house and garage using my
PC or other intelligent controller. Where
can I buy the equipment to do so. The
websites that appear to sell this take
longer to load on dialup than it would take
me to turn the lights on and off manaully
for a lot of years and the pages just go on
and on about what a great deal the
equipment is but say nothing else of any
use to me. Is there someone out there
who understands AND sells this
equipment without losing themselves in
their own webpage?
Logged

richard c

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: X10and Smarthome products
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2006, 07:39:15 PM »

I have two separate X10 systems at different
locations, both using CM11A interfaces and
both suddenly stopped sending signals today
(1/1/06).  I connected the one I can access
now to the computer and the ActiveHome
software indcated that the intructions in
the interface were different than those in
the computer file.  I've cleared the
interface memory and downloaded the computer
file to it and will see later if it works.
Has anyone else had such a problem
associated with starting a new year?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12876
Re: X10and Smarthome products
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2006, 06:47:46 AM »

Richard; I think mine use to do that on
01/01/?? of the following year. Been a while
since I used the cm11a though.
Logged

richard c

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: X10and Smarthome products
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2006, 11:12:36 PM »

Further with regard to my "new years"
problem with two CM11A's:  I reprogrammed
one of the units and it began working
immediately.  The one that was not
reprogrammed started working the next day by
itself.  Both units just seemed to want to
take New Years day off.
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: X10and Smarthome products
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2006, 03:01:23 AM »

The CM11A clock/calendar has a day counter
which counts up to the 366th day before
rolling over.  So in non-leap years the
timers programmed for Jan 1 through Dec 31
aren't active on Jan 1 of the new year.

If you had waited until the next day you'd
find the timers and macros working again,
although one day off, i.e., on Jan 2nd the
timers and macros programmed for Jan 1st
would execute.
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

ron

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 19
Re: X10and Smarthome products
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2006, 11:29:46 PM »

Ray,
Some of the X10 stuff is sold through Radio
Shack stores under the private label Plug 'n
Power and have been for at least two decades.
The bigger stores are likely to have a
bigger selection on hand for this slow, but
steady moving product line.  I buy
replacement modules one at a time from them
to avoid shipping, handling, and the delays
associated, altho X10-WTI out of Kent,
Washington, is pretty good, except in your
case, it's another big, complex site.

Brian H. may know of other 1800- or walk in
sources, as he obviously knows the breadth of
the product lines and interoperability much
better than I do....

BTW, don't feel bad on dialup, nightly X10
"newsletters" (one slick newsletter, I may
say) seem to take forever getting from my
server into my email box - and I use DSL!
They are just big, fat, fancy html files with
all the bells and whistles in use.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.