Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Buster PiX10Hub is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Erratic control of lamp modules  (Read 3634 times)

brian preble

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Erratic control of lamp modules
« on: February 05, 2006, 09:45:53 PM »

I recently purchased several lamp modules and
a mini-controller for use in an Inn. The
point was to have one button at the front
desk which would light up the first floor
when needed.

All well and good, but after two days the
modules began misbehaving. Sometimes they
work fine, but most of the time only 1 or 2
of the lamps will turn on or off.

None of these lights are flourescent, but
most use 3-way bulbs.

Are 3-ways a problem? If so, is there
anything I can do short of buying dedicated
"normal" lights?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12855
Re: Erratic control of lamp modules
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2006, 09:15:49 AM »

Sounds like a signal problem or noise
problem. Do you know if the in is wired
split single phase? Many times X10 signals
have problems getting from one phase to the
other and need a coupler. As a test can you
try the mini-controllers in an outlet closer
to the modules. Three-way bulbs should not
be a problem. They just light to the local
switches setting. Low medium or high. The
lamp wattage is at least 40 watts? You may
want to try selectively unplugging
electronic things like tvs etc and if things
get better add an X10 Line Filter to the
offending device.
Logged

brian preble

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: Erratic control of lamp modules
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2006, 04:45:49 PM »

Thank you very much, Brian. The modules were
working fine until I installed a new HDTV.
Therefore, I suspect it's the culprit. I'll
look for the filter you mentioned. Do you
know if Radio Shack carries them, or what it
would be called?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12855
Re: Erratic control of lamp modules
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2006, 06:16:45 PM »

You may want to try a small test of
uplluging the HDTV and see if it gets better.
I don't think Radio Shack will have an X10
type filter. They do have filters and some
here may say they work fine, but some
absorbe the X10 signals as to them the X10
signals are noise.
Back shortly as I think I can find one for
you.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 293
  • Posts: 12855
Re: Erratic control of lamp modules
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2006, 06:23:13 PM »

Kooked around the X10 and AHP web areas and
didn't see any filters.
Check the power needed for a filter most
common one made is 5 amps but 10 and 15s are
also made.
www.automatedoutlet.com has them as do many
other Automation dealers.
Logged

gary paredes

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Erratic control of lamp modules
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2006, 01:33:51 PM »

Direct tv receivers Hughs, RCA, both
interfere with controlers. Good power strips
on the reveivers have solved my problem.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.