Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Distance extenders  (Read 20108 times)

marvin m

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Distance extenders
« on: September 23, 2005, 12:02:05 PM »

I am looking for distance extenders for the
wireless cameras that are over the distance
of 100ft. Is there a antenna or something
to be able to help with cameras mounted
other the required distance
Logged

Kelly Parke | Program Manager

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 153
Re: Distance extenders
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2005, 05:18:25 PM »

Marvin M.

This answer from our talented tech
department:

X10.com does not currently offer a signal
booster or extender for the XCams, but you
can extend the XCam's signal by using more
sender and receiver units
(http://www.x10.com/products/x10_vk30a.htm).
To extend the signal, set the camera for
Channel A. The switch is located under the
rubber plug next to the camera's lens. Next,
you set a Receiver unit (VR31A or VR36A)
within 100 feet, also set to Channel A. You
now have a signal from the camera to the
receiver. Using the audio/video cables
(included), plug the Channel A receiver into
a Channel B sender. This sender can transmit
up to another 100 feet to a Channel B
receiver. This receiver carries the image of
the Camera on Channel A up to 200 feet.  You
can continue “Daisy-chaining” the receivers
in this way for a significant distance.
Note: You will experience increasing signal
loss the further you extend the range.

If this does not solve your problem, please
look at these links:

Watch Product Videos -
http://www.x10.com/activehomepro/videos/video
_kit.html
Product Catalog -
http://www.x10.com/catalog/cat_cameras.htm
Set Up Instructions -
http://www.x10.com/instructions/
Technical Support -
http://www.x10.com/support/technical_support.
htm
Knowledge Base - http://www.x10.com/kbase/
Email Form and live chat -
http://www.x10.com/support/forms/product_info
_form.htm
Logged
Kelly Parke
X10 Contractor Program Manager

plh enterprises

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Distance extenders
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2006, 08:52:02 PM »

Kelly
I purchased cameras, acitve home pro, and
such  to the tune of $600.00 +,, I lived in
a moble home at the time. the pictures from
the cameras (within 30 ft of reciever) at
best was 1/2 time good 1/2 time scratchy. We
though it may be because of the moble home,
last Oct bought a house and moved, in Dec
just before Christmas with much anticipated
enjoyment of recording the holidays I was
disapointed to find that signal reception
had dropped to intermitent,(Computer and
receiver now located in basement) distance
about the same except for 2 of the cameras
being directly above me and even them only
worked 1/2 the time. I am still wanting to
do this as added income, but there is
something needed not sure what to help the
signal. I do have the X10 wireless. Another
thing is the Active Home Pro program needs
to be available on a disk that can be used
for DEMO and installs.
Logged

charmlt

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Distance extenders
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2006, 09:32:40 AM »

My first attempt was a failure all because of 2.4 MHz phones. I'm waiting for the phones to break like all phones do after 1 year, and change them to 5.8 or 900's. You're making a real problem with the transmission not being selectable.
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 264
  • Posts: 9423
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Distance extenders
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2006, 10:14:15 AM »

There are many things which will interfere with the cam transmition cellphones,microwave,and metal wall studing to name a few so I have to agree with Charmit on this one! "The transmission should be selectable"I'm not sure a boster or extender would help if these probs are the case. ???

Heres a sugestion for the X10 team: Make a converter transmiter/reciever which will take a 2mhz signal and convert it to 900mhz or a selectable mhz that will give you more distance!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

Kelly Parke | Program Manager

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 153
Re: Distance extenders
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2006, 02:27:45 PM »

plh enterprises,

It sounds like you possibly have some RF interference. There are a couple of ways to get around that kind of interference. Check to see if you have any other devices that use a 2.4ghz frequency. Devices could be phones, baby monitors, wireless routers, etc. You can then check that device's manual for the frequencies of each channel that it uses. If the manual does not list them, you should be able to find them using the FCC ID number on the label. Information related to wireless devices can be located on the following page:
http://www.fcc.gov/oet/fccid/

X10 video equipment uses the following frequencies:

Channel A 2.411 GHz
Channel B 2.434 GHz
Channel C 2.453 GHz
Channel D 2.473 GHz

We recommend using the frequency that is farthest from any other 2.4ghz devices.

The only other option is to discontinue use of the 2.4ghz equipment while using X10 video equipment.
Logged
Kelly Parke
X10 Contractor Program Manager
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.