Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Winamp Remote and x10?  (Read 14867 times)

brad

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Winamp Remote and x10?
« on: December 21, 2005, 03:34:36 AM »

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone out there has ever
tried to integrate the x10 software with a
winamp plugin? My media server at home is
also my x10 pc interface. It'd be really
great to have a client that could run on any
other computer on the network and do both the
winamp control and lights. Is anyone working
on this? If not, I'll have to brush up on my C++.
Logged

greg

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Winamp Remote and x10?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2006, 07:44:58 PM »

I have succesfully used the x10 remote to
control Windows Media Player. I went with
that because the objects are well documented,
and it was already available on my machine.

Making it work was a matter of capturing x10
events as done in the examples and having
them fire off Windows Media Player events.
Logged

brian

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
Re: Winamp Remote and x10?
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2006, 07:27:41 PM »

Could you post the code for your program?
Logged

VB6 Fan

  • Guest
Re: Winamp Remote and x10?
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2006, 10:28:19 PM »

Brian and Brad,

I haven't tried to control Windows Media
Player with x10, but I have done some VB 6
work to control WMP (in my case, from a
second networked PC).

The key to this (or controlling WMP with x10
signals via the AHSDK) is to understand the
WMP object model (which can get quite
complex). A good place to start is the MSDN
sites on the Windows Media Player SDK:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp
?url=/library/en-
us/wmplay10/mmp_sdk/aboutwindowsmediaplayersd
kversions.asp
[If this link doesn't work, just Google
WMPSDK]. The kit is really just a big guide
to the object model- I found I didn't use
any of the .dlls or .ocxs that come with it.
If you have WMP on your PC (which it should)
the dlls are already there. Then it's just a
matter of loading a refernce to it into your
appropriate Visual Studio version. Then
follow what the guide tells you along with
your object browser.
Good luck, I hope this helps!
Logged

brandon

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 8
Re: Winamp Remote and x10?
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2006, 01:45:42 PM »

Brad,

I'm currently working on a C++ project that
controls both X10 devices and my winamp
music.

http://129.116.43.245:21030/

�.is the address for it... it's currently
running. Right now it's only set up in my
dorm room, but next semester I'm moving
into an apartment with 3 other guys... and
we're planning on having this for all the
rooms in the house. All the information
about module names, type, macros, rooms,
etc is loaded from a simple script file
that I create, and that page you see at
that address is generated dynamically using
a HTTP server that I wrote as well. I use
the ActiveHomeScript DLL and create a COM
object to control X10 devices, and use
simple window messages to control Winamp
and get information about current track,
etc. If you are interested in more detail
of how I did this or some source code, let
me know and we can get in touch.

-brandon
Logged

Darkain Dragoon

  • Guest
Re: Winamp Remote and x10?
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2006, 12:24:01 AM »

RM-X Media Edition supports X10 via the CM11A
currently, but could easily be extended to
support more.  RM-X works with Nullsoft
Winamp, Windows Media Player, and a few
others too!

Check it out at http://rmx.darkain.com
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.