Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Video? Ever?  (Read 8265 times)

JC_Carreiro

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 2
  • Posts: 14
Video? Ever?
« on: March 02, 2006, 02:04:41 AM »

Same big problem as everyone else seems to have.  Connections to MyHouse Online work some of the time, turning switches on and off work alright but absolutely no video what so ever on the remote end.  Is it possible to get video if your not actually sitting at the server?

Spent a lot of money over the years on X10 products but always seem to have problems with video.  First it was Pan & Tilt where you have to open UDP ports 1024 to 65535 (not smart), and all the other ports for Netmeeting and the ports for Pan & Tilt. Yes I can can connect to Netmeeting and receive video and audio but when I using control.x10.com it connects some of the time but never receives video. Call for support they tell you to open ports, put the system in DMZ yada, yada, yada. Very frustrating in deed.  Yes i have tried it on my other 6 systems with no luck.

Now it's MyHouse Online with no video.  Thoght I new a bit about this stuff since I spent about 4 years in school and 10 years on the job as a Network Engineer but I guess not.  I can design and run a network for an organization with facilities in two countries but can't get video from MyHouse Online.

Can someone fill me/us in on how to receive video over these products without actually having to sit at the server?  Actually receive video over the Net?  That is why we purchased these products!
Logged

rondoc

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 4
Re: Video? Ever?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2006, 01:51:03 AM »

All i wnat os to be able to use pan/tilt pro over the net  so I can view remotely. system are winXP and server is on a D link router. I have tried every combination that i can think of and even tried connecting directly to the net. EVEN THEN the folks at X10 could NOT see my video. Does this actually work. I would love to hear from someone who has it working ! HELP ( I am computer literate too! ).
I pity anyone who is not trying to set up this stuff!
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 265
  • Posts: 9443
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Software
Re: Video? Ever?
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2006, 07:45:47 AM »

I had a problem with video ended up being a setting with my firewall and router. It's been a while since I used MyHouse as I don't have internet access at work. I initaly couldn't even log on with my server but again that was a router thingy. ::) Once I had it figured out to see and do everything with my server I tried logging on for another machine in the house! wow! no go from there so I had to play with more setting in the router/firewall once that was working had my brother inlaw log in  and everything worked for him!
rondoc:  I do have a pan and tilt and can get it working over the internet(not 100%) but I haven't tried with the new update. responce time was very slow and presets didn't work!
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

Find extra info @ My forum

bvrwally

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 49
Re: Video? Ever?
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2006, 09:48:40 PM »

I purchased this MyHouse back in December in order to be able to monitor another one of my properties remotely! Good luck! Mine works when it feels like it! I without a doubt will not purchase another piece of crap from these guys!
Logged
ActiveHome..SmartMacros..MyHouseonLine...ActivePhone...IwatchMobilePro...HotBodyAlert
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.