Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: 3-wat dimmer installation question  (Read 17967 times)

REM

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
3-wat dimmer installation question
« on: May 01, 2006, 10:13:04 PM »

I’m new to X-10 and just installed my first 3-way dimmer (WS12A) switch.  There doesn’t appear to be anyway to ground the switch.  Should I be concerned from an electrical safety perspective?

JimC

• Helpful Post Rating: 41
Re: 3-wat dimmer installation question
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2006, 07:34:19 AM »

I am certainly not an electrician but if the device you are using has a "UL" label on it and it came with no way to ground, it must have been designed to be used that way. If all of the parts of the switch that you are likely to come in contact with are non-conductive (plastic) the ground would serve no usefull purpose anyway. Just make sure that all of the ground wires in the box are securely fastened together so as to maintain the integrity of the grounding throughout the system.
_ _ ...  ..._ _

roger1818

• Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Roger H.
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2006, 09:52:48 AM »

There doesn’t appear to be anyway to ground the switch.  Should I be concerned from an electrical safety perspective?

No.  The electronics are all contained within a plastic box.  The metal plate on the front is there to act as a heat sink for the triac.

REM

« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2006, 08:36:43 PM »