Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Does any of this stuff really work?????  (Read 12289 times)

wssparks77

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Does any of this stuff really work?????
« on: June 24, 2006, 03:53:46 PM »

Purchased a whole lot of stuff and none works. Is this just an internet rip off?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2006, 04:20:44 PM »

If you can tell us what you have.
Maybe we can help; but exactly what doesn't work has to be described to help you. Like modules that are a problem etc.
Though not all installs go 100% OK the first time. Many have no problems and others work it out.
Logged

wssparks77

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2006, 04:32:55 PM »

I purchased the AHP software, Interface, four PAM01 appliance modules, Five LM465 Lamp modules. I have wen tthru all of the set up help. I even put then on the same power stip as the interface, I have put them in the same wall outlet as the interface. Nothing works. House codes are all "A". Unit numbers are correct and I have tried multiple numbers. Just can't get anything to turn on.


Logged

wssparks77

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2006, 04:33:49 PM »

I figured this stuff is just another internet scam.
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 288
  • Posts: 12664
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2006, 07:27:35 AM »

Only thoughts I have is some power strips have a noise filter in them and can absorb X10 signals or the computers power supply if on the same circuit can also mess up X10 signals. Though it would have to be a real powerful filter to absorb enough to kill them on the same circuit or outlet. I guess the CM15A interface could be bad as you only have one sender/controller in the mix you can't substitute another controller.
Logged

wssparks77

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2006, 12:12:34 PM »

I guess I could order another interface, I agree its the only common piece of equipment.
Logged

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2006, 08:06:51 PM »

I guess I could order another interface, I agree its the only common piece of equipment.


Give it another try, the first one I got was also defective as a matter of fact the second one also has issues and will have to be returned but I think you'll like the stuff once you get one that works. that's one of the problems with x10 quality control. x10 likes to make this stuff in China on the cheap which I have no problem with but they need better quality control so that bad units don't get through. I don't know how old you are and I might be telling my age but I remember when the Japanese imports started flooding into this country everyone one talked about cheap Japanese imports but you never heard anyone complain about the quality as a matter of fact Japan set a new standard for quality that the U.S. has even never eclipsed. I actually had to return two x10 video commanders 2's at least 4 to 5 times over the course of a year before I got one that worked a lot of people just wouldn't have been bothered but I needed these for the cameras I purchased so I had to get at least one that worked reliably. You know believe it or not I really love some of the x10 stuff some of their products arereally cutting edge, but quality still remains an issue. I've often said that x10 could be a 1/2 billion dollar a year company world wide but they will never make it with this lack of attention to quality, so try another one even if the next one is defective try one more I really think you'll love the AHP once you get a working unit.

Tcj
Logged

Mystyx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 3
  • Posts: 201
  • eye see you
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2006, 02:02:26 AM »

Ill pop in for email replys...

title question....  yes it does work (some new features have a couple problems but works)

Quote
Purchased a whole lot of stuff and none works. Is this just an internet rip off?
none works???? :)   its not a internet rip off, its great Cheap home automation. lotsa fun!! :P

If you bought it... play with the settings. give some details of what you setup and have tried and we can help! :)

I wrote something about installation and reinstallation on this board, read it carefully. but i presume the lights are not working but the AHP software is??  whats not working?

do you have a palm remote to try? or a tm751 in your setup? :)
Logged
Anything is Possible, NOW!! But What can I afford?!
I Can't Afford Time, cause Money is so Important!!

wssparks77

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2006, 06:56:46 PM »

Ok, I got another interface and now I can turn some things on. I installed a phase coupler to get otehr areas to turn on. But now, I can turn on the 8 wall switches I installed and the 6 lamp modules and 2 flood Light motion detectors. But I can turn NONE of them off. I have checked the bulbs. All are regular incadecsent bulbs, no energy savers, no sodium, no flourecent.
Logged

wssparks77

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2006, 09:02:13 PM »

Instead of a phase coupler, should I have installed a coupler/repeater????
Logged

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2006, 01:53:05 AM »

Purchased a whole lot of stuff and none works. Is this just an internet rip off?

Not at all! :)
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #11 on: July 12, 2006, 01:56:53 AM »

Instead of a phase coupler, should I have installed a coupler/repeater????

Nope! You should concentrate on removing your:

  • SIGNAL SUCKERS
  • NOISE

CLICK on my SIG LINK and spend some time reading.. ;)
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

wssparks77

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2006, 07:27:05 AM »

what sig link?
Logged

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2006, 07:28:59 AM »

wssparks77 

The link is at the very bottom of his post in blue.
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

steven r

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Posts: 2189
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Does any of this stuff really work?????
« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2006, 10:08:19 AM »

what sig link?
Short for "signature link". i.e. As JimC put it, the blue line in TakeTheActive's signature lines.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2006, 10:10:52 AM by steven r »
Logged
BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.