Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: x10 Reliability with many devices?  (Read 4664 times)

reid8120

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
x10 Reliability with many devices?
« on: July 03, 2006, 10:27:03 AM »

I'm relatively new to x10, but think I think it's the technology I need to solve a challenging automation problem. My main concern is whether x10 remains reliable when you have many (100 or more) devices connected to the system simultaneously. With this network, there will be cases where a dozen or more devices are actively sending signals within the same few seconds. Assuming the circuit is free of external noise, is x10 reliable when the system starts to get busy or is there a critical mass of x10 devices where it starts to break down?

I'm hoping some more experienced folks can advise me on whether this would work, or whether it's a bad idea.

Thanks!!!

Dan Lawrence

• Helpful Post Rating: 68
Re: x10 Reliability with many devices?
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2006, 12:50:34 PM »

Are you referring to X10 modules, or general electronic devices?

The X10 protocol uses digital signals sent on the AC sine wave to control addressable modules.
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

reid8120

« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2006, 01:24:11 PM »

I'm referring to x10 modules; specifically, approximately 25 Model 4060 Powerflash Interfaces (each connected to a weatherproof momentary-contact switch), 50 lamp modules, and possibly 25 to 50 Model 2010 Universal Modules. Other modules are possible as well.

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2006, 03:34:45 PM »