Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: What do I need for simple automation of a light?  (Read 3997 times)

hilgerdenaar

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
What do I need for simple automation of a light?
« on: June 16, 2006, 01:26:17 PM »

Hi all,

I want a light that slowly brightens in the morning, to wake me up gradually.  So, e.g. at 6am it starts, and slowly gets brighter over the next 10 minutes.  I also want to be able to turn the lamp on and off, e.g. when I wake up or during the day.

So, what do I need to do this?  ActiveHome Pro seems like overkill, and costs $50 just for the PC interface.  Can I do it with the original ActiveHome?  With FireCracker?

I'm a pretty accomplished programmer, so I wouldn't mind writing some code to do this if need be.  In fact, I'd enjoy it.  But if I can do it without programming, that would probably be better just because it would be quicker.

Thanks,
Martin

x10marko

• Helpful Post Rating: 11
Re: What do I need for simple automation of a light?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2006, 04:15:14 PM »

I can't think of another way at this moment, other than with software.

I use a MiniTimer to wake. I am a deep sleeper, so I have my lights turned on right away, stereo started and coffee ready.
(www.x10minitimer.com)

steven r

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Halloween with X10
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2006, 11:20:41 PM »

...I want a light that slowly brightens in the morning, to wake me up gradually.  So, e.g. at 6am it starts, and slowly gets brighter over the next 10 minutes.  I also want to be able to turn the lamp on and off, e.g. when I wake up or during the day....
Other than a software solution as Marko mentioned, you would need a switch that had a settable ramp rate to brighten. I know there are switches that do this but am not sure if the time can be drawn out for 10 minutes. I don't believe X10 carries them. Maybe SmartHome does.