Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: 2 CM15As in one home?  (Read 56413 times)

DowNet

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
2 CM15As in one home?
« on: August 14, 2006, 01:18:37 PM »

Hey all, I'm fairly new to this X10 network but I'm figuring this out more and more.  I live in an average size one-bedroom condo (11 stories up).  Could I run 2 CM15As?  One to be centrally placed and run the macros, timers, etc.?  And then the other one hooked to my PC so I can control "PC-only" macros and just have general PC control of my lights if I so desire?  Can this be done?  Will I have PLC conjestion on my power line with the 2 CM15As?  I don't plan on having the PC-CM15A trancieve any commands from any remotes.  That will be just there for only PC-run macros and PC-X10 Control.  The centrally located CM15A will do all the trancieving from the remotes, etc.

Will this set-up work?  I'm open to suggestions.

Regards.

Dan Lawrence

• Helpful Post Rating: 68
Re: 2 CM15As in one home?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2006, 01:54:09 PM »

NO!!! Two CM15A's on the same housecodes will clash with each other.  The ONLY way to have two CM15A's is to have each one addressing totally different housecodes and attached to two independent PC's.  One could address Housecodes A-H and the other I-P.

I cannot see any reason for 2 CM15A's in any single X10 system.  If you ordered two complete Active Home Pro packages, send one back and get your money back. A single CM15A will serve an entire house.
I don't SELL this stuff... BUT I sure do ENJOY using it!!!

DowNet

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2006, 02:17:34 PM »