Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Dissable Dimmer?  (Read 4863 times)

willyman

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Dissable Dimmer?
« on: August 30, 2006, 09:01:06 AM »

Hello All,

My name is William and I am new here, as you probably can tell.  I am an electrical engineer and a HUGE geek.  Before I discovered X10, I converted my whole house to florescent light bulbs to save electricity.  Unfortunately, this is a problem with the dimming feature of the X10 wall switches.  I would like to know if there is an easy way to dissable this dimming function inside the module.  I have already discovered a "hack" way to do it, but I dont believe it is the easiest way.  For all I know, one of the extra pins on the chip may perform that very function.  If anyone knows or has already done this experiment, I would be interested to know if there is a better way than I am currently doing it.

Also, if anyone has general info on what pins 8 and 9 on the 78566 chip do I would be very interested in this.

Thanks,
-William

Charles Sullivan

• Helpful Post Rating: 94
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Dissable Dimmer?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2006, 09:54:28 AM »

There are X10-compatible wall switches specifically made for operating fluorescent lamps.  They do require that you have a neutral wire available in the switch box.  See for example http://www.x10pro.com/pro/catalog/xps2.xps3.xpss.page9.html

Smarthome also has some http://www.smarthome.com

One problem with 2-wire wall switches is that the current required to operate the switch runs through the ballast and causes the lamp to flicker when Off.
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

steven r

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Halloween with X10
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2006, 12:26:39 PM »