Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Extend wire on hard wired camera  (Read 62665 times)

tom j

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 16
  • Posts: 1270
Re: Extend wire on hard wired camera
« Reply #15 on: April 26, 2007, 10:08:51 PM »

Here's a pic showing the wrong and correct ways to wire the plug ends. The plugs are all shown referencing the clip part of the plug facing up.



----------------KDR

Thanks, you guys help has been incrediable! Bless Ya!

Tom j
Logged

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 6853
Re: Extend wire on hard wired camera
« Reply #16 on: April 26, 2007, 10:13:29 PM »

Great drawing KDR!

I am sure that will be Helpful to anyone extending a wired camera! I find it helpful just knowing it's here next time a chipmunk chews through my extention.
Logged
New ideas for marketing Smarthomes may alter the Home Automation world completely.... and forever.

Jumpmaster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 19
Re: Extend wire on hard wired camera
« Reply #17 on: May 03, 2007, 09:48:53 PM »

Guess I was a day late and a dollar short on a question a few days ago.  My apologies.  Anyone know if there are any restrictions on listing some of the wire that I have on this site.  Once I hear, I will provide more info.  Tks
Logged

Jumpmaster

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 19
Re: Extend wire on hard wired camera
« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2007, 03:04:55 AM »

Just finished tinkering again.  Get good reception with 200 feet of extended wire and connector.  But seems like there is a little color loss with 400 feet.  Any questions email me, email address is on my profile.  Good luck to everyone with their attempts to improve.  Also, don't have any idea about audio, I did not order the receiver/audio transmitter that  one needs with the wired camera.
Logged

Aquadeveloper

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 51
Re: Extend wire on hard wired camera
« Reply #19 on: October 21, 2007, 02:46:38 PM »

The other thing you have to take into consideration when increasing the length of a video signal
cable, is not the guage of the conductors, but the impedance of the cable used, and the line loss over how many feet
of extending.

For example, you don't want to increase the length of a cable TV connection with 50 ohm (CB radio coax),
as TV signal systems utilize 75 ohm cable. 

Just some thoughts to ponder.

:)
 
Logged

KDR

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 53
  • Posts: 758
    • Home Automation Chat
Re: Extend wire on hard wired camera
« Reply #20 on: October 21, 2007, 04:25:27 PM »

Also how the wire is run. You don't want to run it side by side with 20 or more feet of 120VAC romex. I picked 20 as just a number. I have not tested running it along side any house wiring.

----------------KDR
Logged
Note: "Guests" may read the X10 forum , but you must register to post!

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!
Pages: 1 [2]
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.