Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: Communications Failure  (Read 16102 times)

jayx10

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: -1
  • Posts: 2
Communications Failure
« on: August 27, 2006, 12:08:12 AM »

I have been using my X10 system for a year without any problems until recently. Yesterday, I noticed that the programmed features were not working properly. I began by checking the interface clock to no avail. The pop-up window simply reads "Reading..." endlessly.

I have attempted to test my communications, but again have not gotten anywhere. I have been running XP and X10 indicates that the COM1 port returns with a failed attempt. COM2-4 are not valid ports. I only have one serial port on this machine and XP's device manager indicates that the COM1 port is operating properly.

I'm not sure why the interface is no longer working. Any suggestions?

Logged

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: Communications Failure
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2006, 12:34:23 AM »

I'm not sure why the interface is no longer working. Any suggestions?

Here's another one!  :(

Date Registered:2006-08-26, 23:59:05
Post #1:« Today at 00:08:12 »
Last Active:Today at 00:09:33

Reference: Have you tried the search option?
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

jayx10

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: -1
  • Posts: 2
As a matter of fact, I did...
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2006, 01:59:47 AM »

Thanks for your prompt response. Yes, I spent over two hours tonight using a variety of means including the search option, but did not find anything that seemed to make a difference.

When I set ActiveHome up on my computer a year ago, it worked great from day one. I'm now at a loss to understand why the communications are failing. If you have any helpful suggestions about a workable query in the search option, I'm open to them since my searches have not yielded anything that has made a difference.

If this isn't the place for questions, let us newbies know. If it is, I welcome your input. Thanks.
Logged

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: As a matter of fact, I did...
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2006, 03:19:46 AM »

Thanks for your prompt response. Yes, I spent over two hours tonight using a variety of means including the search option, but did not find anything that seemed to make a difference.

When I set ActiveHome up on my computer a year ago, it worked great from day one. I'm now at a loss to understand why the communications are failing. If you have any helpful suggestions about a workable query in the search option, I'm open to them since my searches have not yielded anything that has made a difference.

What did you change?

  • Are you running on a MAC or a PC?
    .
  • What OS are you currently running?
    .
  • Were you ORIGINALLY running this OS? Have you applied any Service Packs recently?
    .
  • Were you ORIGINALLY running this same hardware?
    .
  • Provide us with as *MANY* details as you possibly can!

If this isn't the place for questions, let us newbies know. If it is, I welcome your input. Thanks.

Personally, I like to see at least a few days pass between Date Registered: and Post #1:.

That gives the "Newbie" time to "learn the lingo" and read some of the MOST OFTEN POSTED answers...

But, I'm just another "Old Fart" that's been using X10 for almost 30 years - WTH do I know?

My Old Buddy Tuicemen has been trying (*REALLY* HARD) with his "Indirect / Subliminal Suggestions " Method for a few years to help folks - I figured I just try to KICK-START it, now-and-then, with a few JOLTS right to the heart! BAM!!! (Go Emeril!) ;)
« Last Edit: August 27, 2006, 04:51:35 AM by TakeTheActive »
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Communications Failure
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2006, 10:38:17 AM »

jayx10:
It's possible your CM11A has locked up.  Check out this page:
http://www.idobartana.com/hakb/modifying_computer_interface.htm#CM11A Reliablity issue

Scroll down to the item "CM11A Reliability Issue".

« Last Edit: October 16, 2009, 02:46:13 AM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

TakeTheActive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 126
  • Posts: 1047
  • Old !@#$% Tinkerer!
Re: Communications Failure
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2006, 03:42:36 PM »

It's possible your CM11A has locked up.  Check out this page:

http://www.idobartana.com/hakb/modifying_computer_interface.htm#CM11A Reliablity issue

Scroll down to the item "CM11A Reliability Issue".

After all these years of running my CM11A, I never had a lockup - I *DO* remember reading Dave's list on the NG, but with my recent obsession over my new CM15A, I *completely* forgot about it.  :-[

Thanks for remembering! ;)
« Last Edit: October 16, 2009, 02:46:43 AM by -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) »
Logged
Low Post Count != Low Knowledge - High Post Count != High Knowledge ;)

ADVICE TO X-10 NEWBIES FROM AN X-10 OLD-TIMER
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.