Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The X10Hub (PiX10Hub) is here! Created by the Community, for the Community.:)% #:)

Author Topic: KR22A and Powerlinc USB  (Read 8632 times)

illuminatrix

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
KR22A and Powerlinc USB
« on: November 14, 2006, 12:09:39 AM »

I purchased some KR22A remotes and can not get them to work.  Will they work with the powerlinc module or do they work directly with the receiver modules.  Does the remote only work with certain receivers?

Thanks

Travis
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 93
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: KR22A and Powerlinc USB
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2006, 12:34:08 AM »

I purchased some KR22A remotes and can not get them to work.  Will they work with the powerlinc module or do they work directly with the receiver modules.  Does the remote only work with certain receivers?

You'll need a transceiver to convert the RF from the KR22A to the powerline signals which actuate a lamp or appliance module.

The transceiver can be a TM751, RR501, or a CM15A.

The dial on a TM751 or RR501 must be set to the same housecode as the KR22A (which defaults to housecode A).
The TM751 and RR501 have a built-in appliance module.  It's fixed at unit 1 for the TM751 but can be either unit 1 or 9 in the RR501 depending on the front panel slider switch.  The appliance model has a relay which makes a loud click when it's turned on and off.

A CM15A can transceive zero to all housecodes,  depending how it's configured.  Configure it in ActiveHome Pro by checking the appropriate boxes in the Tools>Hardware configuration dialog window.

Presumably the battery in the KR22A is good.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 289
  • Posts: 12702
Re: KR22A and Powerlinc USB
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2006, 06:57:44 AM »

RF devices like the remotes send their signals to a transceiver as Charles mentioned. The modules do not have RF receivers in them so you can not control them directly.
Logged

illuminatrix

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: KR22A and Powerlinc USB
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2006, 01:32:05 AM »

can my 1132CU receive rf signals??

Thanks

TT
Logged

vhoang

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 107
    • Automation Tips & Mini DLLs
Re: KR22A and Powerlinc USB
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2006, 02:44:15 AM »

The CU can send and receive data on the powerline, no RF.   If you are going that route with that interface, the best pair will be WGL's W800RF32A to receive all RF signals from X10 remotes, security or standard to your computer.

The CM15A is an all in one unit (the only one of it's kind).   Not as powerful in sending and receiving as the combination above but it works very well for most scenarios.  And it comes with a very nice gui.  Literally plug and play.

If you are into programming and interfacing with girder/housebot/mainlobby/etc then the prior will give you more contro: increase range, signal strength reports, signal strength control to name a few.

You can probably also get by with just a tranceiver (RF to PLC) and no compute for a lot less.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.