Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Window/door sensor compromised?  (Read 6287 times)

cscjjd

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Window/door sensor compromised?
« on: May 24, 2011, 09:26:46 PM »

Hi,  I am new to X10 and forum...

My question is: Assume the alarm is armed but an intruder breaks the window glass and reaches in and removes the
wires from the magnetic switch (without moving the window or switch).  Has the intruder defeated this part of the security system or will the SC1200 dial the phone and sound the alarm when wires are removed?

Thanks for your patience,

JD

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: Window/door sensor compromised?
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2011, 09:32:43 PM »

The window switch is a "normally closed" connection.   i.e. a closed loop. Meaning, if the switch gets disconnected, wire is cut, etc. the alarm is triggered.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2011, 09:34:29 PM by dave w »
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

cscjjd

« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2011, 09:41:46 PM »

Will it also go off if the intruder removes the batteries?  (I'm curious because I saw some instructions that said to hide the sensor behind a curtain so that an intruder would not see it)

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2011, 06:05:15 AM »

If the kit came with the DS10A. Removing the batteries would disable it, but you would have to do it before the zone was violated.
DS10A is the one with the externally connected magnetic switch. I believe what is now in presently selling kits.
http://kbase.x10.com/wiki/Security_Door/Window_Sensor

If the kit came with the DS12A. It has a built in tamper switch. Try and remove the cover. It sends a tamper signal to the SC1200A.
DS12A is smaller and has an internal magnetic switch. With the magnet and sensor mounted next to each other when installed.