Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: X10 Problem--Can You Help?  (Read 4486 times)

Steve933

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
X10 Problem--Can You Help?
« on: February 09, 2008, 01:05:36 PM »

First post--sorry if this is the wrong place for this question.  I've been wrestling with problems at one switch location for months. 

I have two side-by-side XPS3 wall switches set to the same code (A14).  They share a neutral wire so I assume that means they're on the same circuit (I'm no electrician).  By the way, these switches each control (5) 75w incandescent outdoor soffit lights.  375 watts total is well within the limits of the XPS3 which I believe is rated at a max of at least 500w (maybe 600).

I have two transmitters:  IBM HD11a (same as CM11a) and HD501 (same as RR501).  If I use my remote, the HD501 controls these switches perfectly.  The HD11a reliably turns them off, but never turns them on.

My HD501 is plugged into my HD11a which is plugged an XTB.  I have a CR234 coupler/repeater.  No matter where I plug the transmitters and XTB in, I get the same results.

Here's the strange part... If I connect the HD11a to my PC (via the serial port) and use my Home Director software, I can use my mouse to turn the switches on and off manually and it works flawlessly through the same HD11a interface.  There is obviously something different about the signal coming out of the HD11A when I use the mouse via the Home Director software than when the HD11A sends the signal from its internal memory--everything else is exactly the same.

Since the HD501 also works reliably, this made me suspect a problem with HD11a.  But, it controls all of my other X10 switches perfectly.  I thought that it might have a problem with the A14 address for some reason so I tried the same tests using A14 and A9 but got the same results--it works through the PC software, but not from the HD11a's memory.