Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Erratic Control? How About "OUT OF CONTROL?!?"  (Read 10037 times)

B's_Place

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Erratic Control? How About "OUT OF CONTROL?!?"
« on: June 09, 2007, 02:57:49 AM »

ERATIC CONTROL ???    How about TOTALLY OUT OF CONTROL???

I am new to AHP also (about 6 weeks) and have spent practically every waken minute trying (unsuccessfully I might add) to get AHP with SMART MACROS, MYHOME setup and running halfway right.

I have a high caliber dedicated computer (Dell 1.6ghz processor w/ 1.2 Gigs ram, 80 gig HD, UPS) connected to broadband internet via a D-link 4 port router.   The X-10 system consists of a USB interface, three cameras on house code "C", two ninja pan-tilt bases, five motion sensors on house code "A", nine x-10 modules on house code "B", a palm pad, and a couple of three button switch plates, and a 2 phase powerline coupler/filter.      This is all installed in a small lakehouse (about 900 sq ft) in a remote location with little - to no powerline or RF interference.

First the CM15A (out of the box) has such a sorry range nothing would work more than 20' (even though advertising leads you to believe 100').     Finally - after much frustrating reading of this forum - I found where users were modifying the antenna [see Project to Increase Range].     What a sorry state of affairs when you buy several hundred dollars worth of stuff -- not to mention the value of the dedicated computer system to run it, and you find out you have to modify the manufacturer's gear to get it to even get close to their OWN specs.