Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Which camera?  (Read 4784 times)

traveler

• Helpful Post Rating: 3
Which camera?
« on: April 17, 2008, 01:35:31 PM »

I'm a newbie and would like to purchase a camera system/package primarily for remote video monitoring via the internet thru my PC. I also want a reasonably reliable and economic set-up.
Since we all know that technology is constantly improving, which x-10 camera is considered to be reliable and provide sharp images? (My budget won't cover the Sentinal!)
Do B/W cameras provide clearer images vs. color cameras?
Also, it appears from forum comments that wired cameras provide clearer images. The cameras would be mounted on the outside of my home & I would be able to run Cat3 or Cat5 cable to them. One set-up possibility I've read on this board is to start with the "wireless" cameras (really not wireless since power has to be wired to them) & later convert them to wired if the video quality is not very good.
Also for night time camera images, I'd most likely need to install some motion activated lighting.
I would appreciate any recommendations and/or comments.

Tuicemen

• Administrator
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: Which camera?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2008, 04:13:39 PM »

Personally I find the color cams to provide a much sharper image, but that may be just my B&W that is flawed!
There are better low light cams out there some even have IR lighting built in and their price is much the same as X10s! Look at Walmart & Home Depo  ;)
Setting up motion sensor lighting is a simple to do use the x10 floods not the x10 flood cams!
For the video monitor in and home control get the ActiveHome Pro package with the included plug-ins (usually found in the daily deals section! ;)
As for cams Look for 2 for 1 deals  definitely gets some ninja pan & tilt devices they allow for more coverage! ;)
Please Read Topic: