Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: I need a wireless repeater  (Read 7422 times)

VTGlcokster

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
I need a wireless repeater
« on: September 10, 2012, 08:06:15 PM »

I just installed Bay Web's internet based thermostats in my duplex.  They have an occupancy sensor feature using X10 wireless motion detectors.  The sensor closest to the boiler room works perfectly, but the apartment located on the opposite side of the house has an intermittent at best.  I have placed the sensor as close to the boiler room as possible, but it still doesn't work reliably.

I believe I need a wireless repeater but everything I see when I google the term x10 wireless repeater is discontinued.  I am new to X10 technology so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: I need a wireless repeater
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2012, 08:44:37 PM »

Nope. The X10 repeater is long gone and there is no substitute. However there is some "hacks" which can be applied to the "XXXEye" models of X10 motion sensors whic helps to extend their range. Serchthis forum for "passive repeater" "motion sensor range" "MS16A range". It is basically hot gluing a 18 inch wire on the left side of the sensor. What is acting as the receiver/transceiver for the X10 motion sensors?
"This aftershave makes me look fat"

VTGlcokster

« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2012, 04:51:21 AM »

The Bay Web thermostat control module in the boiler room is acting as the transceiver.  It's located about 20' away and 8' under the motion sensor.  There are two sound proof walls one the first floor and a 8" concrete wall in the basement that are impeding the signal.