X10 Community Forum

🔌General Home Automation => Automating Your House => Troubleshooting Automation Problems => Topic started by: marcleva on January 12, 2007, 10:59:43 PM

Title: Help with A10 Relay Setup - Leviton RS124
Post by: marcleva on January 12, 2007, 10:59:43 PM
I'm doing a project and have encounted some major frustration.  I purchased five RS124 A10 relays and I cannot figure out how to program them.  I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction???

I have all 5 relays hooked up to the powerline as well as my X10 transmitter and other x10 devices.  All my X10 devices work fine, but I am having trouble communicating with my A10 relays.  All five came defaulted to the A1 address so a sendplc "a1 on" command turns everything on and an "a1 off" command turns them all off.  I have the manual and it states you need to press and hold the button and then send the desired address twice.  However, how do I send the address using the X10 sdk?  What is the command I need to use?

Is there a controller I need in addition to my software? 

PLEASE HELP!!!

Title: Re: Help with A10 Relay Setup - Leviton RS124
Post by: -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) on January 12, 2007, 11:19:08 PM
I would assume:

SendAction( "sendplc", "a1 on")
(an appropriate pause)
SendAction( "sendplc", "a1 on")

That work?
Title: Re: Help with A10 Relay Setup - Leviton RS124
Post by: marcleva on January 13, 2007, 04:39:32 AM
I assumed that was the only command I needed to do.  I tried a sendplc "a2 on" twice with a pause in between and still no luck.  Now I have my entire project wired up and I can't move forward until I assign the relays a different address.  By the looks of the instructions I thought it would be pretty straight forward. 

The wiring is pretty straightforward and the pdf manual can be seen at http://www.smarthome.com/manuals/2250awa.pdf

Any other tips or ideas? 

Marc
Title: Re: Help with A10 Relay Setup - Leviton RS124
Post by: Brian H on January 13, 2007, 06:55:36 AM
The instructions say send the address. I didn't see a function command mentioned. Try a2 and no on or off.
Title: Re: Help with A10 Relay Setup - Leviton RS124
Post by: marcleva on January 13, 2007, 01:29:39 PM
That worked perfectly.  Brian you ended my 17 hour debugging nightmare with 1 sentence.  It's always the simplest solution that solves the problem.  THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Title: Re: Help with A10 Relay Setup - Leviton RS124
Post by: -Bill- (of wgjohns.com) on January 13, 2007, 03:17:27 PM
Yes, thanks Brian H!

I too had my mind clouded by the description in the SDK and it never occurred to me that you didn't have to include a command with the address!  :-[ ::)

You earned a "helpful" from me!  ;D

Thanks!
Title: Re: Help with A10 Relay Setup - Leviton RS124
Post by: Brian H on January 13, 2007, 04:28:40 PM
Glad it helped. I have run into other brand devices that use a set of Addresses only for doing things like add a scene etc.
Title: Re: Help with A10 Relay Setup - Leviton RS124
Post by: TakeTheActive on January 13, 2007, 11:49:26 PM

You earned a "helpful" from me!  ;D

That's what I like to see! Appreciation, recognition and communication!! :)

As opposed to: SNIPERS: Exactly *WHAT* Does Your Anonymous DING Accomplish (in your mind)? (http://www.x10community.com/forums/index.php?topic=10997.0)