X10 Community Forum

🖥️ActiveHome Pro => Mobile Apps => Plug-ins => OnAlertMobile => Topic started by: J.B. on October 04, 2010, 07:49:38 PM

Title: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 04, 2010, 07:49:38 PM
This new plug-in sounds pretty straight forward.
Just awaiting it being put on the server for download and have a question.
This software claims you can arm and disarm from your device. Does this mean OnAlert will have a revamp to allow disarming from AHP?
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: HA Dave on October 04, 2010, 08:43:53 PM
....... Does this mean OnAlert will have a revamp to allow disarming from AHP?

I saw that and wondered the same thing... but it does appear as that is what X10 is advertising. As I've understood it... the inability to deactivate the alarm through APH has always been a software thingy... and not a limit of the hardware. It is so cool... what this new software is offering us as... automation users.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 04, 2010, 09:08:25 PM
I'm anxious to test it out.

ActivePhone and iWatchMobile are quite convenient and this will add yet another tool to the "Automation Swiss Army knife".
Few things being worked out with iWatchMobile, but it's great they are on top of it and it is/will be a handy tool once the kinks are ironed out.  >!
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: X10 Dev on October 04, 2010, 09:41:51 PM
This new plug-in sounds pretty straight forward.
Just awaiting it being put on the server for download and have a question.
This software claims you can arm and disarm from your device. Does this mean OnAlert will have a revamp to allow disarming from AHP?

Yes.   ;D

Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 04, 2010, 09:44:07 PM
Excellent! That is a good thing, at least for me.  :)
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 05, 2010, 03:29:09 AM
I've installed the plug-in and it has a nice simple layout, looks good to me.
Unfortunately, when my software registration email was sent they only provided the link and registration code for the standard OnAlert plug-in that is included with OnAlertMoble.
I assume this was due to the fact that OnAlertMobile hadn't been released on the server yet, so I will have to contact them later.
I see two disarm options in the macro designer now.
I use two ds7000 consoles and am wondering once I receive my reg code if there is a way to use multiple consoles with OnAlertMobile and determine which I want to control.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: ErikP on October 05, 2010, 02:34:07 PM
Quote
I use two ds7000 consoles and am wondering once I receive my reg code if there is a way to use multiple consoles with OnAlertMobile and determine which I want to control.

Currently OnAlertMobile is only able to send commands on a single secure code.  While you could register this code with both controllers, it would just cause both controllers to react when you press a button, not control each individually.

This is an excellent suggestion for a future version, so I will put this at the top of our suggested features list :)

Macros in ActiveHome Pro will work the same as before.  You can register two remotes, one with each console, install both in ActiveHome Pro, and then make macros to control each, emulating the different remotes to control the different consoles.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 05, 2010, 02:39:38 PM
Thanks kindly for the response.
Not a huge deal right now if I can control them both at the same time, but it would be a plus to have the option to control several individually.

Thanks again.


Some people have mentioned that this setup could lower the security of your system.
Eg: the mobile plug-ins could allow someone to connect to your system if they acquired your IP address and knew the port # AHP apps use.
Is there any way to add a username/password prompt that you would have to know in order to login to AHP?
This could make the system much more secure.
Possibly the ability to setup usernames and passwords IF you so desired.

Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: ErikP on October 05, 2010, 04:31:24 PM
Quote
Some people have mentioned that this setup could lower the security of your system.
Eg: the mobile plug-ins could allow someone to connect to your system if they acquired your IP address and knew the port # AHP apps use.
Is there any way to add a username/password prompt that you would have to know in order to login to AHP?
This could make the system much more secure.
Possibly the ability to setup usernames and passwords IF you so desired.


This is definitely only intended to be used locally on a well secured Wi-Fi network.  Port forwarding is great for the other web apps, but it probably does more harm than good when it comes to controlling your home security system.  Without port forwarding, and with appropriate Wi-Fi security settings, access to your security console through this plug-in should be just as secure as your electric bank statements, tax backups, and everything else on your home computer you don't really want to share.

We could certainly add some extra security options if there is demand to open this up to outside access.  It would probably be a pass key issued when you use the invite a cell phone dialog.  This would provide security similar to a username/password, but maintain the one click access the current version gives you.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 05, 2010, 04:44:34 PM
I was thinking one good reason to have outside access is if you happen to forget to arm your system.
You could then arm it from the mobile app.
MyHouse has user-level permissions, I figured this function, or similar, could be added to allow a more secure outside connection for people who would have need for this.

Quote
Port forwarding is great for the other web apps, but it probably does more harm than good when it comes to controlling your home security system.

The other mobile apps use the same port #.
If any of these apps were available from an outside connection, then any other could be accessed if the pseron connecting knew the link structure. eg: http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8777/onalert, http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8777/activephone, http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8777/iwatch.



Just a suggestion that would allow the software to be more functional while keeping it fairly secure.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: HA Dave on October 05, 2010, 07:11:21 PM
My Icon remote can also control my alarm and rests beside my easychair when I go out. But you need to know and use the code... when using the Icon to disarm the alarm. I have also modified a RF remote to be controlled with a powerflash module. I am thrilled to see a better remote disarm.

So if the secured Wi-Fi also uses a code. You should be seriously safe from normal crash and grab break-ins. Maybe a team from MicroSoft could hack their way into your system from a truck parked in your driveway. I can't see that happening.

Robert Wagner (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Wagner) made thieves look pretty smart back when he stared in "it takes a thief (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/It_Takes_a_Thief_(1968_TV_series))". A late 60's TV show about the adventures of a suave cat burglar [Alexander Mundy], who plied his trade for the U.S. Government.

However... I wouldn't credit most burglars with the stills that the writers empowered Alexander Mundy with. Besides... we are all likely safe from the likes of Robert Wagner (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Wagner)... since he does have that Reverse Mortgage (http://reversemortgagedaily.com/2007/09/09/lender-lead-solutions-expands-reverse-mortgage-advertising-campaign/) Gig now.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 05, 2010, 07:33:01 PM
Quote
My Icon remote can also control my alarm and rests beside my easychair when I go out. But you need to know and use the code... when using the Icon to disarm the alarm.

I really like my Icon RF and NStinct remotes and this is a handy feature of them, IMO.

This new mobile app could allow you to control your security system away from home and use a similar disarm code as the Icon/Nstinct does.
As of now, you don't have to enter a disarm code, just hit disarm.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: HA Dave on October 05, 2010, 08:33:47 PM
As of now, you don't have to enter a disarm code, just hit disarm.

It should have a setup like the remote... IMHO (like I am ever humble about my opinions).
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 06, 2010, 01:28:52 PM
Just wondering if anyone has heard of an update on the registration issues.
I am still not able to register my OnAlertMobile plug-in.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: hawk1 on October 06, 2010, 02:55:06 PM
I just posted on their Facebook page about not getting mine either from the contest.  Then I went back to look and another user that had a bad experience with their RMA department and my post have been deleted!!!  I guess they just want positive feedback!

I specifically remember a post from x10 saying they welcomed both positive and negative feedback, we want to know what you think!  I GUESS NOT!!!!
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 06, 2010, 03:28:25 PM
Mine wasn't from a contest, I paid for it.
They sent only the link and reg code for the standard OnAlert.
I've tried that reg code and what should be my reg code for OnAlertMobile, but neither work.
I called several times with a promise to have a call back.
They did call me, but to try and sell me the iWatchMobile plug-in, which I, of course, already have.
This was within 1/2 an hour of receiving an email trying to sell me the same thing.
It's funny, because I replied to the email asking not to contact me in regards to purchasing something else.
It said they knew I had purchased some of their cameras previously and would I be interested in iWatchMobile.
Well, they knew I bought cameras, they should have checked to see that I had already purchased iWatchMobile.
Of course, I received no call back in regards to my registration issue and the fact they never applied the $5 Facebook fan discount to 3 items I ordered during the time I had been on the Facebook page.  B:( >*<

I hate that I feel the need to complain, but I wonder why people get frustrated when this is how things are handled a lot of the time.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: hawk1 on October 06, 2010, 04:15:10 PM
I feel your pain.  I really do.  I'm just surprised that they took my post off of Facebook real quick.  I didn't use profanity  I just stated facts.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: X10 Dev on October 06, 2010, 11:40:04 PM
I feel your pain.  I really do.  I'm just surprised that they took my post off of Facebook real quick.  I didn't use profanity  I just stated facts.

Clearly we (X10) have some customer service issues to work on.  You'll be receiving email links tomorrow, and IT is going to go back through the order list and figure out who else didn't get a registration link and email them...
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 06, 2010, 11:56:18 PM
Quote
Clearly we (X10) have some customer service issues to work on.  You'll be receiving email links tomorrow, and IT is going to go back through the order list and figure out who else didn't get a registration link and email them...

Thank you.

I don't feel all of my experiences with x10 support have been negative, but there does seem to be some miscommunication and lack of knowledge with some customer service reps.
I appreciate that you have been letting us provide feedback and pass along any issues we've come across with the new software, both positive and negative.
Also, listening to suggestions on adding features to the software and putting up with all the rambling from us users.
I also appreciate the quick response to our questions.  #:)
Other x10 employees could definitely learn a thing or two here.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: PajamaGuy on October 07, 2010, 09:14:27 AM



I also have not (yet) received any activation emails, but the nice folks on the phone helped me very well.  And a real heartfelt thank-you to you for posting here.  It's great to see you'all are listening & responding! >!
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: chiefctn on October 07, 2010, 03:12:57 PM
I just purchased last night, but had to call X10 support today to register. Works fine now. Only problem is that my iphone often does  not get video signal. It's still early in the process.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: rssii_x10 on October 13, 2010, 08:42:53 PM
i recently got the On-Alert plug-in and cannot receive the email invite on my blackberry 8520. it will show up on my PC with email. i have tried 4 different email accounts from hotmail to gmail accounts on the phone with no luck but i can send and receive any other email in a flash. i even tried forwarding the invite email and the link does not work then. any suggestions? ???
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: anthonylavado on October 14, 2010, 01:48:16 AM
i recently got the On-Alert plug-in and cannot receive the email invite on my blackberry 8520.
You'll want to check your Junk Mail folder on the phone. X10 mail has a tendency to get sorted into that. As far as accessing the plug in from your phone, make sure it's connected to your WiFi, and you can enter the same address that you see in the "Invite A Cell Phone" window into your BlackBerry's web browser.

Also:
Create a bookmark in your Blackberry's browser for the internal (http://192.168.2.x/:8777/ahp) address of the site (full URL). Then change the "Browser" option in the properties of the Bookmark to "Hotspot Browser."
This forces the BB to use Wifi, AND to route the DNS through the WiFi connection, too.

In your case, "/ahp" gets replaced with "/onalert".
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: rssii_x10 on October 14, 2010, 09:14:16 PM
thanks anthonylavado for the suggestion...i tried what you suggested and i have no messages in any of the spam folders.

i did go in and create a bookmark and the interface comes up but AHP is not responding. I can click on any option and see activity on my phone, router and the network connection on the AHP PC but still no response in the AHP software. The same thing happens when I try it on a desktop PC.

Any other suggestions?
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: auTONYmous on October 20, 2010, 09:34:11 PM
Ok, so to anyone who has downloaded, installed, and received a reg for their OnAlertMobile plugin, can you clearly answer one burning question:

Does this allow one to now assign a DISARM function (for say, a DS7000) through AHP and macros?

2nd question (To an X10 dev/employee): Why not just add that to the standard OnAlert module and push out an update? Was it really that hard??? I mean, to be fair, we've been clamoring for this function for quite some time now, and here we're being "forced" to buy yet another plugin for a "feature". Seems a little disingenuous to me.

I'll pay for (and gladly use) the mobile features too, so having a new plugin isn't all bad. I just noticed it seemed a bit contrived that this feature landed with a new plugin and not the old one. Am I alone in this sentiment?    >*<
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: X10 Dev on October 20, 2010, 11:56:08 PM
Ok, so to anyone who has downloaded, installed, and received a reg for their OnAlertMobile plugin, can you clearly answer one burning question:
Does this allow one to now assign a DISARM function (for say, a DS7000) through AHP and macros?

Yes.

2nd question (To an X10 dev/employee): Why not just add that to the standard OnAlert module and push out an update? Was it really that hard??? I mean, to be fair, we've been clamoring for this function for quite some time now, and here we're being "forced" to buy yet another plugin for a "feature". Seems a little disingenuous to me.

I'll pay for (and gladly use) the mobile features too, so having a new plugin isn't all bad. I just noticed it seemed a bit contrived that this feature landed with a new plugin and not the old one. Am I alone in this sentiment?    >*<

To be fair, we added the feature to the standard OnAlert module.  All new software after revision 286 has this feature.  We'll be doing a blanket update tommorrow to 293, so you'll be able to download a new OnAlert that has the Disarm feature.  Of course, we would prefer if you wanted the new mobile features to purchase and use the new plugin too, but that's your call -- We're glad to have you as a customer either way.

Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: BaBaLou. on October 21, 2010, 06:06:18 AM
AHP Dev, Please may we ask.

Quote
To be fair, we added the feature to the standard OnAlert module.  All new software after revision 286 has this feature.  We'll be doing a blanket update tommorrow to 293, so you'll be able to download a new OnAlert that has the Disarm feature.  Of course, we would prefer if you wanted the new mobile features to purchase and use the new plugin too, but that's your call -- We're glad to have you as a customer either way.

Does this mean that the problem reported with A00TV and UnknownM on the Activity monitor with 3.286, has been taken care of with 3.293 ??? same problem X10 had about 5 years ago and was taken care off with an update.

I hope so. :'
I love this stuff too much to look the other way.

BaBaLou.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 21, 2010, 07:13:59 AM
Just curious if there are still plans to add control for multiple security consoles.
I have 2 DS7000 consoles, one used for an out building and one for the house.
It would be great to have separate control of these, as I like to leave the shop system armed at times I don't have the other system armed.
I'm sure there are others who use more than one console, too.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: X10 Dev on October 21, 2010, 08:34:24 AM
AHP Dev, Please may we ask.

Does this mean that the problem reported with A00TV and UnknownM on the Activity monitor with 3.286, has been taken care of with 3.293 ??? same problem X10 had about 5 years ago and was taken care off with an update.
I hope so. :'
I love this stuff too much to look the other way.

BaBaLou.

Sorry, not fixed yet.  We're pretty much at full capacity right now rolling out the mobile plugins and addressing those bugs.  I will try and see if I can get some resources focused on some more fixes but it might take a little while...
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: Geewiz on October 25, 2010, 01:54:06 PM
This is a mobile app...correct?

Can I use this on my Android phone to arm/disarm the system when I am travelling, or do I have to be logged on to my my home's internal WiFi network. 

If the later: what does this do that the several security remotes I already have won't do?

Thanks!
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: J.B. on October 25, 2010, 02:32:22 PM
Quote
what does this do that the several security remotes I already have won't do?


OnAlertMobile basically allows you to use your mobile device as a security remote.
If you are familiar with port forwarding you can use this on a 3G/4G/Edge connection and not be limited to using a local WiFi connection.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: ErikP on October 30, 2010, 04:45:58 AM
Quote
Can I use this on my Android phone to arm/disarm the system when I am travelling, or do I have to be logged on to my my home's internal WiFi network. 

Another option, if you purchase and install the iWatchmobile PRO plugin, this grants you access to use the x10 reflector server for your other mobile apps as well.  This will change the invite cellphone dialog to display a 3G and a WiFi link to connect to your software.  The 3G link will route through the X10 reflector server and connect remotely to your home PC without any port forwarding or needing to open anything on your firewall.

Quote
If the later: what does this do that the several security remotes I already have won't do?
The original intent of the product was not to replace your existing remotes, but give you the option just use the phone in your pocket instead of digging for the remote lost in that pile of knocked over magazines on the coffee table.  Obviously we have branched out a bit from the original idea, with security codes for remote access, support on the reflector server to host all the current mobile apps, and not just the one it was designed for, but that was the original idea for the product.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: kevinwheeler on November 04, 2010, 03:04:09 PM
OK - for those of us who aren't icon intuitive, can someone tell me what function the blue lock button on the "remote" performs? I think the ! (exclamation) is the panic button but can't figure out the other one.

Thanks.

Kevin
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: ErikP on November 04, 2010, 03:11:49 PM
The blue lock and the red ! buttons are mode switching buttons.  Kind of like TV and Cable on a universal remote.  They change the functionality of the buttons below them, but don't send any commands themselves.

The blue lock is the arm mode and is selected by default when the application loads.  This gives you access to all your arm and disarm buttons as well as security light on/off.

The red ! button changes into panic mode.  This displays a giant panic button, as well as an off button to disable the panic.

We broke up the interface into 2 modes, because with such a small screen space (mobile phones), it was just too easy to accidentally hit the panic button.  I am constantly accidentally hitting the panic button on my truck's keyless entry system, so I wanted to make sure no one had that problem with our software.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: kevinwheeler on November 04, 2010, 04:20:43 PM
Thank you.

One additional question/feature request:

Is there a way to have one of the Mobile apps indicate which of the alarm sensors was triggered? Now that AHP knows when the alarm has been set and which mode (home or away), if it detects a door sensor open in either mode or a motion sensor in away mode then have a number or sensor name show up on the OnAlert remote. This would be a wonderful addition.

Thanks.

Kevin
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: ErikP on November 04, 2010, 06:39:40 PM
Unfortunately since the mobile apps are all built on an HTML interface the communication is pretty one sided right now.  We can query some minimal information like a list of module names from ActiveHome Pro, but we can't receive notifications or events.  It is possible to build a script loop to continuously poll ActiveHome Pro to gather this kind of information on the mobile app, but we would have to build an infrastructure into the code to support this, so it is not as trivial as it sounds.

I will add it to the suggested features list, but adding this would be a pretty substantial change to software.
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: tybirdtybird on November 14, 2010, 12:51:16 PM
Quote
Clearly we (X10) have some customer service issues to work on.  You'll be receiving email links tomorrow, and IT is going to go back through the order list and figure out who else didn't get a registration link and email them...

Thank you.

I don't feel all of my experiences with x10 support have been negative, but there does seem to be some miscommunication and lack of knowledge with some customer service reps.
I appreciate that you have been letting us provide feedback and pass along any issues we've come across with the new software, both positive and negative.
Also, listening to suggestions on adding features to the software and putting up with all the rambling from us users.
I also appreciate the quick response to our questions.  #:)
Other x10 employees could definitely learn a thing or two here.

For me ever time i call customer service reps they just lied to me. they told me two time they where going to send me out replace parts  Never got them  . I do would like the mobile app.     
Title: Re: New OnAlertMobile
Post by: geeforce on December 02, 2010, 11:35:15 AM
Dear x10. I have been using the iwatchmobile with no problems. After it had been working so well for me i bought the onalertmobile and now nothing works. this is the situation. i was using the iwatchmobile and it was working fine, but after i installed onalertmobile i get nothing. When i bought onalertmobile i installe both onalert & onalertmobile. I didn't really notice that i already had onalert and installed on top of it. now nothing works now. when i try to register it, it just says connecting but nothing happens. I put in a fake code an it did the same not saying if it was worng or right. i think i need to do a uninstall, but your software dosen't unistall easilier. how do a clean uninstall and reinstall.