X10 Community Forum

🖥️ActiveHome Pro => SDK => Topic started by: schmuttis on January 28, 2011, 10:23:39 AM

Title: How do I get started?
Post by: schmuttis on January 28, 2011, 10:23:39 AM
I'm a programmer so would like to use the SDK to extend Active Home Pro. I'm a total newbie to Active Home Pro, though. I was hoping someone would be able to direct me to some directions about how to begin the interface. My preferred programming is .Net (C# or VB) but I've used DOS based programming in the past if that's needed. I just need something to tell me what to download, how to reference this object in code and a list of available interfaces. I'm sure there is plenty of information out there, I'm just not finding it.

Thanks for your help getting me started.
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: Tuicemen on January 28, 2011, 10:29:00 AM
You need to download the AHP SDK in the samples folder are some examples one is in VB.
>!
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: schmuttis on January 28, 2011, 01:54:00 PM
I feel really dumb asking this but where are the folders? I've looked around and don't see them.
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: Tuicemen on January 28, 2011, 03:46:10 PM
Installing the SDK creates a folder in the Programs Files folder called AHSDK there are sub folders in it!
 >!
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: schmuttis on January 28, 2011, 09:01:16 PM
I'm sorry - I wasn't clear. Where do I find the samples folder?
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: Tuicemen on January 28, 2011, 10:06:09 PM
Installing the SDK creates a folder in the Programs Files folder called AHSDK there are sub folders in it!
 >!
The Samples folder is a sub folder of the AHSDK folder!
At least it is here! ::)
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: schmuttis on February 01, 2011, 10:42:25 AM
I found what I was looking for here: http://www.activehomepro.com/sdk/sdk-info.html (http://www.activehomepro.com/sdk/sdk-info.html)
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 01, 2011, 10:51:07 AM
All those samples are also in the SDK if you downloaded and installed the full SDK.
I should have also pointed you to that link! :'
 >!
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: andygraves on February 19, 2011, 01:44:21 AM
Hi Everyone,
I have installed the AHSDK ok but cant run the VB sample?
i get the following error
"Could not load file or assembly 'Interop.ActiveHomeScriptLib, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format."
i am using Visual Studio 10 VB
Does anyone know how to resolve this.
Thanks
Andy
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 19, 2011, 07:12:32 AM
andygraves,
Do you have the latest SDK?
Do you have the latest AHP(3.306)?
The old SDK will not were with newer AHP installed!
>!
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: andygraves on February 20, 2011, 01:38:46 AM
Hi there,
I have the latest versions of AHP and the SDK.
Still get he same error.
Where do i got from here...?
Thanks
Andy
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 20, 2011, 08:45:30 AM
How are you importing the AHscript?
With the latest SDK and visual 10 I've found I need the AHscript file in my debug folder and point to it.
Older builds it didn't matter were the AHscript was. ::) :'
Think that is a visual 10 thingy, with net 2008 it doesn't seem to matter.
 >!
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: andygraves on February 20, 2011, 02:19:09 PM
hi there
the file seems to be seen
but here is the error...

System.BadImageFormatException was unhandled
  Message=Could not load file or assembly 'Interop.ActiveHomeScriptLib, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format.
  Source=VBActiveHome
  FileName=Interop.ActiveHomeScriptLib, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
  FusionLog==== Pre-bind state information ===
LOG: User = Vista-Cube\Andy
LOG: DisplayName = Interop.ActiveHomeScriptLib, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
 (Fully-specified)
LOG: Appbase = file:///C:/Users/Andy/Desktop/VBActiveHome/bin/
LOG: Initial PrivatePath = NULL
Calling assembly : VBActiveHome, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null.
===
LOG: This bind starts in default load context.
LOG: No application configuration file found.
LOG: Using host configuration file:
LOG: Using machine configuration file from C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319\config\machine.config.
LOG: Policy not being applied to reference at this time (private, custom, partial, or location-based assembly bind).
LOG: Attempting download of new URL file:///C:/Users/Andy/Desktop/VBActiveHome/bin/Interop.ActiveHomeScriptLib.DLL.
ERR: Failed to complete setup of assembly (hr = 0x8007000b). Probing terminated.

  StackTrace:
       at VBActiveHome.Module1.Main()
       at System.AppDomain._nExecuteAssembly(RuntimeAssembly assembly, String[] args)
       at Microsoft.VisualStudio.HostingProcess.HostProc.RunUsersAssembly()
       at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state, Boolean ignoreSyncCtx)
       at System.Threading.ExecutionContext.Run(ExecutionContext executionContext, ContextCallback callback, Object state)
       at System.Threading.ThreadHelper.ThreadStart()
  InnerException:
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 20, 2011, 03:07:25 PM
I got many errors with visual 10 and the AHscript  but after several attempts and rebuilds it finaly took.
I have both the 2008 and 2010 versions the 2008 visual version I've never had a issue with.
You may wish to download and try  it.
I think 2010 is geared more for Windows 7 and fails to work as well as 2008 even in that enviroment! ::) :'
(my opinion)
 >!
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: EL34 on March 18, 2011, 04:24:29 PM
As a side note on VB express 2010.

I use several VB2008 express programs for my business that I wrote.

Recently I had a hard drive crash.
On the new hard drive I installed VB2010 express instead of VB 2008 express and then opened all my Vb 2008 programs.

They all converted fine and run without a hitch as Vb 2010 express programs.
I have not done this on the machine I run my X10 programs on yet.
Still running VB2008 express on that machine.

Just throwing out info on VB 2010 express
Title: Re: How do I get started?
Post by: Tuicemen on March 18, 2011, 05:35:47 PM
I'm not particularly impressed with 2010.
I find 2008 much faster loading!
Even on Windows 7 64 bit