X10 Community Forum

🔌General Home Automation => Automating Your House => Topic started by: Moose on August 03, 2020, 04:54:28 PM

Title: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: Moose on August 03, 2020, 04:54:28 PM
I have tried 3 Broadlink devices, the Universal, the Mini and the RM Pro+, and I cannot get any of them to connect. Well, once, I got the Mini to connect to the guest network(no password), but could not repeat it. Suggestions? Anyone else have this problem?

I have tried 3 different phones and 3 apps including IHC.
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: Tuicemen on August 04, 2020, 07:03:21 AM
Many newer modems are dual band besure your NOT selecting a 5G network. Your phone needs to be on 2G as well during setup I believe.
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: Moose on August 04, 2020, 08:41:28 AM
My two frequencies have separate network names, so I have kept an eye on that. Did your 1st connection go smoothly and connect right away? Or did it take multiple attempts?
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: petera on August 04, 2020, 05:18:40 PM
My two frequencies have separate network names, so I have kept an eye on that. Did your 1st connection go smoothly and connect right away? Or did it take multiple attempts?

Go to your router settings, disable the 5ghz setting (if you can't disable it, turn down the signal strength) then attempt to connect to your RM device. Check your routers user manual on how you can do this.
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: Moose on August 05, 2020, 08:47:33 AM
I turned off the 5 ghz and tried several times, both smart mode and AP mode with no luck.
I tried my regular network and my Guest network(no password).
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: Moose on August 05, 2020, 10:05:34 AM
I found a thread on AVforums that talked about a connection being made but the app reported "configuration failed". I checked my client connection list on the router and it is there. How odd. Any thoughts??
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: petera on August 05, 2020, 01:35:08 PM
Read through this. Those units are a complete lottery https://www.reddit.com/r/homeassistant/comments/eq3jmr/rm_mini_3_setup_issues/?utm_source=xpromo&utm_medium=amp&utm_name=amp_comment_iterations&utm_term=active&utm_content=post_body

What were you going to use it for. Is it just for scanning codes.
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: petera on August 05, 2020, 02:41:46 PM
Hereís something simple to install on a Raspberry Pi. Itís a simple copy/paste install. Just follow the instructions exactly as they are. You can dump that Broadlink crApp once this is working. https://en.techblog.co.il/2020/06/24/installing-broadlinkmanager-on-raspberry-pi/
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: Moose on August 05, 2020, 03:42:08 PM
What I hoped to do was make a universal Home Theatre Remote on a 10" Tablet. I have about 5 remotes on-the-go right now. Right now I am just fighting the learning curve.
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: petera on August 05, 2020, 04:11:26 PM
What I hoped to do was make a universal Home Theatre Remote on a 10" Tablet. I have about 5 remotes on-the-go right now. Right now I am just fighting the learning curve.

Well try the link I gave you. You should be able to extract all the codes you need to control your equipment. In fact if you use Homegenie you could control all your home theatre equipment by enabling UPnP using the codes you extract You can of course integrate Kodi with HomeGenie too. Skyís the limit really. Just make a list of what you want to achieve.
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: Tuicemen on August 05, 2020, 06:43:29 PM
Nice find petera
The Broadlinkmanager looks interesting.

 @ moose I can't  remember how easy my Broadlink was  to initialy setup however I did have issues with my phone grabing its IP so I  ended up adding a reservation in my router for the broadlink and not had any issues other then my dog ocassionaly knocking the plug out.
That made me create a program in HG tha6 checks its status.
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: petera on August 05, 2020, 08:57:07 PM
Those Broadlink units are pure junk. Just get something like this and hook it up to your Raspberry Pi and youíve got all the features and more of a Broadlink and no hassle with firmware. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Energenie-ENER314-IR-Infra-Red-Controller/dp/B00T9JPA4O/ref=asc_df_B00T9JPA4O/?tag=googshopuk-21&linkCode=df0&hvadid=232000808334&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=10397079605707123883&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=m&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=1007850&hvtargid=pla-421727837205&psc=1&th=1&psc=1
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: Tuicemen on August 06, 2020, 06:45:58 AM
I've never tried the broadlink mini and know of no one that has good things to say about them. I have 2 RM pros both work flawless (when plugged in)  The IR pi addon board looks like a nice alternative to the mini.
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: Moose on August 06, 2020, 09:56:45 AM
Those Broadlink units are pure junk. Just get something like this and hook it up to your Raspberry Pi and youíve got all the features and more of a Broadlink and no hassle with firmware. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Energenie-ENER314-IR-Infra-Red-Controller/dp/B00T9JPA4O/ref=asc_df_B00T9JPA4O/?tag=googshopuk-21&linkCode=df0&hvadid=232000808334&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=10397079605707123883&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=m&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=1007850&hvtargid=pla-421727837205&psc=1&th=1&psc=1
Very nice add-on device, but only available from the UK. :(
Title: Re: Broadlink could not Find Network
Post by: petera on August 06, 2020, 03:50:41 PM
Those Broadlink units are pure junk. Just get something like this and hook it up to your Raspberry Pi and youíve got all the features and more of a Broadlink and no hassle with firmware. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Energenie-ENER314-IR-Infra-Red-Controller/dp/B00T9JPA4O/ref=asc_df_B00T9JPA4O/?tag=googshopuk-21&linkCode=df0&hvadid=232000808334&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=10397079605707123883&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=m&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=1007850&hvtargid=pla-421727837205&psc=1&th=1&psc=1
Very nice add-on device, but only available from the UK. :(

A Google should throw up US supply lines. Thereís plenty of alternatives to this too. Plenty of alternatives to the Broadlink. Search IR blaster self make projects too.