X10 Community Forum

🔌General Home Automation => Automating Your House => Topic started by: IPS on February 20, 2021, 05:11:33 PM

Title: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: IPS on February 20, 2021, 05:11:33 PM
 I am trying to connect all door/window sensors to P2 +2612U.when door is opened it send a email, sometimes, but does not turn light on. I have tried with RM751 set to same code as the door/window sensor. this code was set when I was using AHP with CM15A.  I have security counsel SR561 which is connected to all sensors.
I sure lot of you have resolved this problem. I would appreciate if some one can help me out.
thanks.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Brian H on February 20, 2021, 06:32:21 PM
The P2 with 2412U PLM can not receive X10 RF commands.
The DS10A is a security style sensor so the RM75 will not process it. As it only does standard X10 addresses.
When you where using AHP and the CM15A. You probably had the On Alert add on. As it allowed the CM15A with AHP to process Security Messages.

I don't have a solution for you but I am sure someone had done it here and will share.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 21, 2021, 09:35:27 AM
The inability of the smartenit to see X10 RF is sad.
There is no standard X10 PLC equivalent of many X10RF signals including Security ones.
You need software that can see the security codes attached to the CM15A or CM19 + a transceiver, HG or AHP will do this.
You can then tell the software to send a standard X10 PLC when it sees the security signal. The Smartenit will see that PLC signal and act on it.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: IPS on February 21, 2021, 01:38:50 PM
So Mr T tell me exactly how I can solve this problem. Thanks.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 21, 2021, 03:35:08 PM
I believe I did.
Run either HG or AHP 24/7 or at least when you'd wish to watch for the door opening.
Create a macro that watches for the door sensor and send a X10 command "on" when the door opens, "off" when it closes.. Smartenit can handle everything else once it sees the x10 PLC signal. Use the x10 device code that your not controlling anything else with.
I had created a small PC program that did something similar if memory serves me right.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: IPS on February 21, 2021, 04:07:29 PM
With PC RUNING there is no problem. I want to connect Ds10A without any PC runing HG OR AHP.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 21, 2021, 05:19:48 PM
With PC RUNING there is no problem. I want to connect Ds10A without any PC runing HG OR AHP.
I currently don't know of another program that can monitor security RF. Maybe mochad but I have no experience with it and it is dated, more so then AHP. I had a look at the program I had created for the security console but it looks like it only watched the Alarm trip, not individual sensors. :(
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Brian H on February 21, 2021, 06:23:43 PM
The WGL V572RF32 can map 32 Security Sensors including the DS10A to a standard X10 address sent on to the power lines.
http://www.wgldesigns.com/v572.html

It requires an X10 interface to send the standard X10 signals over the power lines.
The X10 interfaces are no longer made. Only the JV Digital Engineering XTB523 is still available.
http://jvde.us/xtb-523.htm

To get security sensor to X10 on the power lines would run close to $200. Each of the two devices are around $99.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Brian H on February 22, 2021, 06:42:21 AM
The problem is a DS10A being a Security Type Sensor.
It sends a security style message on the X10 310MHz frequency.
A standard X10 transceiver like a RR501.TM751, X10Pro PAT02 and PAT01, WGL V572. Will receive the messages and not process them as they are X10 standard messages only devices.
The WGL V572RF32 can also process X10 security messages and send an X10 standard message back on the power lines.
The AHP CM15A with the On Alert add on. Can also handle a security message.
As can an X10 Security Console for internal processing and will not send anything back on to the power lines.
If you care to look at the WGL V572RF32 manual. It is in the small ZIP file on the sales page for its configuration program.
My only other thought would be a 310MHz receiver module feeding into some custom mini board. Like a Raspberry Pi or Arduino.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 22, 2021, 07:09:17 AM
My only other thought would be a 310MHz receiver module feeding into some custom mini board. Like a Raspberry Pi or Arduno.
If I was to go the Smartenit route I would go this route. A raspi or ESP2866 (Wemos D1 mini) could be setup beside the Smartenit and only used to handle only security RF recieved signals.
If it was just one DS10A I wished to watch I'd set it up as a wired connection to a PSC01 https://www.x10.com/psc01-powerflash-burgular-alarm-interface.html?___SID=U
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 22, 2021, 07:41:44 AM
Probably the cheapest way to watch a door or window with the Smartenit would be to utilize the built ZigBee radio and pick up one or more ZigBee door/window sensors https://www.amazon.com/Wireless-Security-Compatible-Required-Batteries/dp/B08BFGJ6RB/ref=sr_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=ZigBee&qid=1613997930&s=hi&sr=1-4
I've had good results from Sonoff products.
 >!
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: IPS on February 22, 2021, 08:01:44 AM
I happen to have both v572RF32 and XTB 523. Both have been working well. Will check if the ds10a unit address is allowed or blocked. Will keep you all posted.
Thanks for your feedback and help.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Brian H on February 22, 2021, 09:25:27 AM
The V572RF32 and XTB523 will map the DS10A security sensor to a standard X10 addressed message. You can then use that standard X10 address message to trigger something in the P2.

You can not directly put the D10A security message on to the power lines.  As it is not a standard X10 power line message.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: brobin on February 22, 2021, 02:38:18 PM

I found an RF door sensor on ebay that transmits to a receiver that closes a relay on the receiver when triggered.  The relay output can be wired to an X10 Powerflash/Burglar Alarm Module PSC01/PF284 to send an X10 code.  The RF sensor/receiver is $13 for a single channel unit with one sensor or $20 for a 4 channel unit with 4 sensors.
https://ebay.to/2NNMfXZ
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: IPS on February 27, 2021, 12:01:03 PM
Yesterday I got the USB to rs232 connector with 6í of cable. To  connect V572 RF32 to my laptop and every thing started working. All the DS10A would trigger the alarm. I.e. turn on a device and send a email.
Then by the evening it stopped responding. I have tried everything but canít get it to work. Once in a while it would trigger and turn on the light but thatís only once in a while.

Once setup it does not needs to be connected to PC.  Connecting to PC after setup made no difference. Sensor batteries are good opening the door does trigger the security consul PS561. But only once in a while it would catch signal from Ds10A. External antenna is connected so range should not be a problem.

Would appreciate any help.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 27, 2021, 05:15:02 PM
Are you looking to send a email when your alarm is triggered or just every time a particular DS10 is tripped?
I was under the impression you were just watching the DS10.

Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: brobin on February 27, 2021, 05:23:49 PM
He's using the DS10 to have the V572RF send an X10 signal to trigger the P2 Hub to send an email.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 27, 2021, 06:56:54 PM
He's using the DS10 to have the V572RF send an X10 signal to trigger the P2 Hub to send an email.
yes but in the last post IPS mentioned the alarm console the problem is an alarm state sends allLightson followed by allLightsoff
if the x10 House code used to send email is the same as the Security House code that maybe what is messing things up.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: IPS on February 28, 2021, 06:17:50 AM
Mr.T

Yes I am using Ds10A to watch doors. When triggered it should, via P2, turn on a designated light and send a email. PS561 provides sound when sensor is triggered. It is never used in armed position. I have commercial system for that.
This morning Ds10A did not worked with one door but did work from the other door. But then has not worked on 4-5 openings of the same door. While PS561 has sounded every time.
By the way putting  PS561, v572 close to each other has no effect.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Brian H on February 28, 2021, 07:02:34 AM
Is the PS561 generating the notifications or through the V572RF32 with XTB523?
The PS561 only will do the DS10A security stuff like sounding the Chime function. So distance may not be a factor.

The V572RF32 through the XTB523 will convert a DS10A security message to a standard X10 command.
It will then send the standard X10 command over the power lines to the 2412U and processed by the P2.
So power line issues maybe part of the issue.
Do you by chance have an X10 signal meter. Like an XTBM, you can check the signals on the power lines?
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 28, 2021, 07:19:54 AM
Mr.T

Yes I am using Ds10A to watch doors. When triggered it should, via P2, turn on a designated light and send a email. PS561 provides sound when sensor is triggered. It is never used in armed position. I have commercial system for that.
This morning Ds10A did not worked with one door but did work from the other door. But then has not worked on 4-5 openings of the same door. While PS561 has sounded every time.
By the way putting  PS561, v572 close to each other has no effect.
Thanks for the clarification, I like Brian think you need to check your powerlines for noise and signal suckers.
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: IPS on February 28, 2021, 07:56:18 AM
Now how do I do that?
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: Tuicemen on February 28, 2021, 09:16:22 AM
Now how do I do that?
Read over these  excellent troubleshooting guides:
http://jvde.us/x10_troubleshooting.htm
The forum here also has multiple posts.  >!
Title: Re: How to connect DS10A to smartenit P2 with2612U?
Post by: brobin on February 28, 2021, 10:54:31 AM
One easy way to test would be to locate the V572/523 next to the P2/PLM, perhaps plugged into the same non-filtered power strip.  If it still doesn't work then it may not be a powerline signal issue.  Perhaps adding a delay in the P2's Automation Rule would serve to avoid any collisions from the V572 All Off transmission.  You could test with a 4 second delay and if it works back it down to a shorter delay to find the best solution.