Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Replacing WS467 with ?  (Read 6975 times)

Montweeee

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Replacing WS467 with ?
« on: April 07, 2011, 06:55:44 PM »

Hello all,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to this system.  We just (yesterday) got a house that has everything set up in X10 and I have having one issue with my WS467s aka they don't work.  Before I start replacing them with new units. 

Currently there are two WS467s that are running my the exterior lights of the house with the following types of lights on each individual controls
1.  2 CFL (9 watts each), and 4 halogen bulbs (not sure of watts yet but they are landscape lights)
2.  8 CFL (9 watts each), and 6 halogen bulbs (not sure of watts yet but they are landscape lights)

The wiring is simple White, Black, Bare Copper wire romex. 

Based on what I have read in these forums the WS467 does not prefer to run anything other than incandescent bulbs, would running the CFLs and halogens cause the units to fail?

since I don't know the watts of the halogen bubls I could be getting close or exceeding the max wattage when they are in pair which I understand is 400W a piece.

Do you think I am having an issue with the types of bulbs?

Does X10 make a product that can handle more wattage and with simple romex wiring?

sorry I don't have all the information, I was just hoping a guru out there could at least point me in the right direction

Thanks in advance

dave w

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 139
Re: Replacing WS467 with ?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2011, 07:09:16 PM »

If the halogen bulbs are 120V and not low voltage landscape, then the WS467s should work even with the CFLs.  The filaments in the halogen bulbs will supply the parasitic power the two wire wall switch needs.

When you press the buttons on the WS467, do the lights come on then?
Are the WS467A safety switches (directly under the button) in the ON positions?