Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: X10 Powerhouse IR543 Help  (Read 6214 times)

coloredcadence

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
X10 Powerhouse IR543 Help
« on: June 01, 2015, 03:53:14 PM »

Hello all!

I'm new to the world of home automation, and I'm trying to troubleshoot my family's system.  They're using a X10 IR543 console to remotely control 2 sets of lights in a room.  They were working several months ago, but somewhere between then and now the lights stopped properly responding to commands.  So here's the current problem:

• The lights only respond to the "All On" and "All Off" commands; none of the other buttons ("On", "Off", "Bright", "Dim", and the in-between settings) work.
  • The lights started responding to signals after being activated by the wall switch.  They did not respond to the IR543 console before that.

As for troubleshooting, here's what I've done so far:

• While fiddling with the wall switch and the IR543 console (I was trying to see if there was a relationship between the two), the lights started responding to the "On" and "Off" buttons in addition to the "All On" and "All Off" buttons, but the "On" and "Off" buttons turned all the lights on or off, rather than just their respective light units.  Upon pressing "All Off", the "On" and "Off" buttons stopped functioning again.  I have been unable to replicate this instance.
  • Another weird instance occurred while I wasn't troubleshooting.  I went to check out the IR543 console last week to see if it would would feel like working that day, and oddly enough, it did respond to all of the button commands properly.  It functioned properly for a good two hours (the time I spent making sure it worked), but the next day it stopped working again.
  • I tried plugging in the IR543 console to all the other power outlets around the house, but the situation remained the same.