Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Suggestions/How tos  (Read 2994 times)

CobraCats

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Suggestions/How tos
« on: October 28, 2006, 12:26:44 AM »

I recently purchased a kit from x-10.  I chose x-10 because of its flexiblity and because I can integrate my alarm system.  I havent yet recieved the kit I ordered but it is on the way.  I have installed several x-10 modules in the past with my career, I am a Security installer.  Most of the time we are installing a single module here and there.  I will be using the x-10 with my alarm system but wont be using the x-10 as security (i will trust my monitored system for that).  But the first basic thing I will be doing is setting the system so that when I open my front door the hall light turns on. 

I am looking for interesting HowTos and any suggestions you may have.  I find the website a little to focused on selling and not enough on the cool things I want to do, like open my blinds at 7 am mon-fri but 10 am on weekends.

Thanks in advance

Puck

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
Re: Suggestions/How tos
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2006, 12:42:57 AM »

...the cool things I want to do, like open my blinds at 7 am mon-fri but 10 am on weekends.

Sounds like you want to be in full control of how things work.  ;)
For that you will need automation software like Active Home Pro.

But the first basic thing I will be doing is setting the system so that when I open my front door the hall light turns on.

This can be very straight forward with a motion sensor, light switch and transceiver. No software required unless you want more control over it than just detecting motion when it's dark.

CobraCats

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2006, 12:55:28 AM »

as for the blinds issue, I have the idea but not sure how to implement it....

With the front door I will be using my existing alarm system so that when the contacts open it activates the lights