Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Can I use one remote chime with multiple motion sensors?  (Read 6094 times)

noob

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Can I use one remote chime with multiple motion sensors?
« on: June 06, 2007, 04:13:17 PM »

Hello X10 gurus,

I am totally new to X-10, and have tried searching for this answer, reading the remote chime manual online, and calling the 800 number and have no dice, so I thank any responses in advance.

I am researching to see if these units would meet my needs and haven't bought anything yet.  I would like to install 3 motion sensors in my home.  I have 2 bathrooms and my master bedroom that I would like to monitor, and have it chime every time my cat walks past it.  (for those curious, I am toilet training my cat and would like to be alerted when she is thinking about doing her business so I can make sure it goes in the toilet and not on the floor or in the middle of my bed.)

What I would like to know, is...
1 - Will I need one remote chime per motion sensor or can I use one remote chime to receive signals from all 3 motion sensors?
2 - Can the remote chime sound different if it comes from a different motion sensor?  If not, is there another vendor that makes one?
3 - What is the range of signal that can be received?  Ie, how many feet apart is max?

I am also toying with putting night time cameras in the bathrooms for when I am not home as well but at this point I want to see if X10 can do what I want it to.

Thanks,
Barbara

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: Can I use one remote chime with multiple motion sensors?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2007, 04:27:19 PM »

1: Not necessary with a limit. All will have to be on the same address like B1. Any module will react if on the same address. So a Lamp Module on B1 would also go on.
Having more than one on the same address may add to setup quirks. More than one address may help keep things orderly.