Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: my dryer project  (Read 9016 times)

clunker

• Helpful Post Rating: -1
my dryer project
« on: November 15, 2006, 10:41:13 PM »

I'm new to X10 and there's one thing I've been dying to do:

We have a dryer in one of our bathrooms and when you run the dryer you need to make sure the fan is on, because the bathroom fan is also the exhaust fan for the dryer.  There is a single switch that controls this fan and also the light.

Now, it is very natural when you leave the bathroom, having completed whatever you went in for, to turn the light off.  If the dryer is on, though, this is a very bad thing.  It's also common to start the dryer and then leave the house, go to sleep, etc., and yet in that case the light/fan stays on unnecessarilly.

So, my intention is to install an X10-compatible switch that will transmit on one unit code (to a macro) and have the power triggered on and off from a different unit code.  Then I'll have something to detect when the dryer is running and have that send yet another signal.  I'll probably add a motion sensor to the mix and write some nice macros to make everything work the way I want.

I found a nice light switch, and I purchased an AC clamp meter (w/ detachable clamp - it's perfect and cheap!) to detect current through the dryer's power cord.  Now I just need the right device to send the signal (and figure out how to interface the clamp with it.)  I'm not really familliar with the products.  Anyone got any ideas?  I'd prefer if it wasn't battery-operated.

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: my dryer project
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2006, 10:57:55 PM »

Interesting idea...

Check out the Powerflash module, it gets a trigger from a low voltage or a contact closure then sends an X10 powerline signal.