Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Getting telephone responder to work with DSL  (Read 6685 times)

barrister2

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Getting telephone responder to work with DSL
« on: August 03, 2008, 05:01:07 PM »

Hello,

I am a newbie to this board, but not to X-10.  I recently purchased a telephone responder and cannot get it to work correctly. I can control my modules manually from the responder's keypad, but not from a telephone, which is what it is for!  After a bit of troubleshooting, I found that if I put a DSL filter on the responder, I could control my modules from my touchtone phone WITHIN THE RESIDENCE.

I do have DSL, and feel it is probably part of the problem, but if I can fix it internally in the house with the DSL filter, what can I do to fix it so it hears the  touchtones from an outside line?  The responder answers the phone properly, but does not hear any of the touchtones (unless from a telephone within the residence) and then hangs up.

Any help or suggestions that you can  offer would be appreciated.

Thanks 

Oldtimer

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 45
  • Line Noise & Signal Sucker Fatigue Syndrome
    • Oldtimer's X10 Forum Home Page
Re: Getting telephone responder to work with DSL
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2008, 08:31:25 PM »

Hello,

I am a newbie to this board, but not to X-10.  I recently purchased a telephone responder and cannot get it to work correctly. I can control my modules manually from the responder's keypad, but not from a telephone, which is what it is for!  After a bit of troubleshooting, I found that if I put a DSL filter on the responder, I could control my modules from my touchtone phone WITHIN THE RESIDENCE.