Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: CM15A shows as an unknown device (?)  (Read 3967 times)

halmc

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
CM15A shows as an unknown device (?)
« on: January 06, 2007, 03:25:52 PM »

Newbie here with XP, and new starter box from X-10.  Software seems to have loaded correctly.  AH shows a message that the CM15A is not connected, but indeed it is conneced, with good USB and electrical connections.  Can't reach X10 support.  Have uninstalled the software a coupla times, as well as deleted the 'unknown device' via my cmputer/properites/hardware/devicemanager/Universal Serial Bus controllers;  restarted computer, reloaded software, same result.

What now?

-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 81
  • He's just this guy. You know?
    • wgjohns.com
Re: CM15A shows as an unknown device (?)
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2007, 03:58:33 PM »

Newbie here with XP, and new starter box from X-10.  Software seems to have loaded correctly.  AH shows a message that the CM15A is not connected, but indeed it is conneced, with good USB and electrical connections.  Can't reach X10 support.  Have uninstalled the software a coupla times, as well as deleted the 'unknown device' via my cmputer/properites/hardware/devicemanager/Universal Serial Bus controllers;  restarted computer, reloaded software, same result.

What now?

This may or may not work.  It is based on another user's recent post and it worked for him.

With the CM15A plugged in (to both the wall and the computer):
  • Open up the AHP software.
  • Close the Warning box about the CM15A not being found.
  • Click on the Tools menu at the top.
  • Choose Clear Interface Memory.

Hopefully now, it will recognize the CM15A.

I hope that fixes it for you.
-Bill- (of wgjohns.com)
bill@wgjohns.com

In the real world, the only constant is change.

When I'm online you can find me in the Home Automation Chat Room!

Dan Lawrence