Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: How to get started on Programming a Controller??  (Read 4098 times)

Bola

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
How to get started on Programming a Controller??
« on: January 23, 2007, 11:28:10 AM »

Hello everyone,

I am very new with using x10 and with home automation and have been overwhelmed looking for information on this forum.

I want to use socketrockets in my home along with a controller.  I've done a few searches and haven't been able to find a controller that does what I want and am now considering programming one myself.

What I need to know is what types of controllers are out there that are programmable, which ones are the best/cheapest and then how to go about programming.  I've programmed in several languages in the past (C++, Pascal, Basic, Visual Basic, Delphi, Assembly....) so I have some experience and am definitely willing to learn if I can be directed in the right direction.

All I want to do is turn lights on an off, but would like to be able to write my own program to control them (e.g. make them flash).

Any help would be very much appreciated!!

Thanks.

Tuicemen

• Administrator
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: How to get started on Programming a Controller??
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2007, 11:45:12 AM »

There are several controllers out that will allow you to write your own code several x10 controllers and some from Smarthomes.
If you are just looking to send commands then the cheepest controller would be the Firecracker CM17A there are several code examples which can be found on the net for this. The easiest would be the cm19A the usb version of the Firecracker this can be programed with the AHP SDK and will allow send and receive. Of coarse you'll need a transceiver with either of these! Both these controllers X10 still sells or can be picked up from E-bay fairly cheep! ;) :D