Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: replacement for telephone responder?  (Read 6776 times)

timwall

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
replacement for telephone responder?
« on: January 24, 2007, 06:03:50 PM »

I have a cabin - it has baseboard electric heat & no central thermostat - I want to be able to call the cabin & turn on the two ceramic heaters (regular wall plug) I have to warm the place up before I get there.
I was thinking I could use the Telephone Responder & two appliance modules for this but now the telephone responder is discontinued - anyone have any other suggestions?

Thanks,
Tim
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 301
  • Posts: 13151
Re: replacement for telephone responder?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2007, 07:05:04 PM »

The Search Function on X10 web site found this: http://www.x10.com/products/x10_tr16a.htm
Not sure if the last are gone.
Also Automated Outlet still lists them: http://www.automatedoutlet.com/product.php?productid=219&cat=0&page=6
Again don't know if any are still available.
There are other web Automation dealers if you need links or try a Google search as that may also fine dealers still having them.
Also the X10Pro Model is the PHC05.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2007, 07:12:00 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Tuicemen

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 279
  • Posts: 10432
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
    • Tuicemen Forum
Re: replacement for telephone responder?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2007, 11:24:32 PM »

If you have a CM19A (Firecracker) or CM15A (ActiveHome Pro) you could use the free program AlertDialer It has some other added features but you'll need a PC with a voice modem running and caller id. ;) :D ;D
Logged
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

timwall

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 2
Re: replacement for telephone responder?
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2007, 12:04:27 PM »

Thanks for the help
Logged

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 787
Re: replacement for telephone responder?
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2007, 01:45:05 PM »

You could also try eBay to see if anyone is selling theirs. 

If I remember right, Nutone had an X10 telephone responder too, and it was even better than the one X10 sold under it own name.

PS:  Another possible source... http://www.elights.com/remheataccon.html
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

vhoang

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 7
  • Posts: 107
    • Automation Tips & Mini DLLs
Re: replacement for telephone responder?
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2007, 04:00:41 PM »

also:

automatedoutlet.com
smarthome.com
homecontrols.com

all show them to be in stock.

even homedepot if you want to go there:
http://www.homedepot.com/prel80/HDUS/EN_US/jsearch/product.jsp?pn=100396375

if it's just basic stuff, then the telephone responder should plug and play.

you get more flexibility if you have a running computer with a modem card.   you can use alertdialer or even go fancier and use asterisk on linux and get youself a mini pbx integrated into a full automation system.   plenty of already written code to do fancier stuff.
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.