Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: iWitness - Turning the cameras off and on.  (Read 9763 times)

warbird

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
iWitness - Turning the cameras off and on.
« on: April 04, 2007, 12:43:50 PM »

Hi,
I though that I read that iWitness would turn off and then turn on cameras as it was scanning.... I can't find it now.
I have done it manually with the remote and it works OK.
If you don't turn them off and on, then the stronger camera overpowers all of the rest.
is there a way for iWitness to automatically turn them off an on?
Right now all 5 of my cameras are watching the floodlight only.
Thanks,
Judd
Logged

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: iWitness - Turning the cameras off and on.
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2007, 12:55:47 PM »

Judd,

Assuming you have the house code the same on all of the cameras and the unit code incremented by one you should not have a problem. At least not when using four cameras.

Example
Camera 1 house code B unit code 1
Camera 2 house code B unit code 2
Camera 3 House code B unit code 3
Camera 4 house code B unit code 4

Unit codes must be used in groups of 4 ( 1,2,3,4) (5,6,7,8)
When camera 1 is turned on all others should be turned off. The same is true when selecting any camera in the group of 4.

The problem comes in when you add the 5th camera. This use to be a problem in AHP and I don't know that it was ever fixed. What I do is make a macro the turns on the camera I want and all others off.

Macro trigger B5 on
B1 off
B2 off
B3 off
B4 off
 B5 on

You would have to make a macro for each of the cameras.

Jim
« Last Edit: April 04, 2007, 12:57:24 PM by JimC »
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

JimC

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 41
  • Posts: 631
Re: iWitness - Turning the cameras off and on.
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2007, 01:03:52 PM »

I just reread your post and realized that you were referring to scanning with I witness. All of what I previously posted still holds true You must have all of the cameras on the same house code and the unit code must be in the 4 grouping. (1,2,3,4) (5,6,7,8). When using the 5th camera you may still have to make a macro to turn the unused cameras off. This was a know bug when Iwitness was being Beta tested and I don't know if it was ever fixed

Jim
Logged
_ _ ...  ..._ _

warbird

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 15
Re: iWitness - Turning the cameras off and on.
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2007, 12:56:07 PM »

Jim,
Thanks for the replies, but I now have a couple more questions:
   1 "Unit codes must be used in groups of 4 ( 1,2,3,4) (5,6,7,8)" I really don't understand this. Are we saying that each group must be in a different house code? Or if I am installing 5 or 6 cameras, aren't they automatically installed in two groups ie: (1,2,3,4) (5,6)?
   2 I understand your macro, but will iWitness then automatically run the macro as it is scanning? I see that you would need to add to the macro as you add a new camera.
thanks again,
Judd
Logged
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.