Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Firecrackers etc  (Read 2543 times)

waterstom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 29
Firecrackers etc
« on: July 08, 2007, 01:24:19 PM »

OK, going thru my box 'o X10 stuff, I realize I have several Firecracker CM17A and xyz-thingys CM19A which are USB.

I seem to remember being told by someone on the phone at X10 that the 19 was required for full use of AHP at one point...

Am I missing something? Do I need to be using either of these items with an AHP setup? (I had old activehome and used a firecracker with it years ago)

 ???

Thanks
Tom
Logged

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 787
Re: Firecrackers etc
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2007, 07:37:59 PM »

I believe AHP only works with the CM15a, and the CM15a directly supports X10 RF.  I don't know what the CM17a or CM19a could add.

BTW, I have one of the original CM17a plugged into my notebook (don't have any other use/need for its RS232 port).  I use it just for play to occasional, manually, turn modules 'on' and 'off'.
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Firecrackers etc
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2007, 07:49:20 PM »

OK, going thru my box 'o X10 stuff, I realize I have several Firecracker CM17A and xyz-thingys CM19A which are USB.

I seem to remember being told by someone on the phone at X10 that the 19 was required for full use of AHP at one point...

Am I missing something? Do I need to be using either of these items with an AHP setup? (I had old activehome and used a firecracker with it years ago)

 ???

Thanks
Tom


To the best of my knowledge the AHP CM15A hardware can do everything the CM19A can do, but not vice versa.  Whether or not equivalent software exists for common functionality is another matter.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org

HA Dave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 174
  • Posts: 7126
Re: Firecrackers etc
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2007, 09:12:41 PM »

The FireCracker is NOT compatible with the AHP interface. Or ...at least that is what the warning screen said on my computer when I installed the AHP. I already had a firecracker installed... and AHP it disabled it.
Logged
Home Automation is an always changing technology

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: Firecrackers etc
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2007, 09:50:45 PM »

The FireCracker is NOT compatible with the AHP interface. Or ...at least that is what the warning screen said on my computer when I installed the AHP. I already had a firecracker installed... and AHP it disabled it.

On the other hand, I've plugged a CM19A into a system which had AHP installed (with the GUI not running) and used the SDK ahcmd.exe command to send RF signals ("Old RF Remote Commands") with it.   (Unfortunately ahcmd.exe crashed with about the same frequency as it had been doing when sending the same RF signals from a CM15A.)

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.