Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: DVR card or Quad Processor?  (Read 5484 times)

cswca

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
DVR card or Quad Processor?
« on: June 07, 2007, 03:49:45 PM »

I am new to this and have read enough on this forum and did enough searches to realize I need additional hardware to view all four cams live on my computer at the same time (residential use).  I am going with (4) hardwired cameras, probably the ones from from Walmart with IR (Q-SEE CMOS Color Camera w/ Night Vision) because I have heard the wireless reception can be a PITA and because all wireless cams operate off of 2.4G and other devices that operate on the same frequency can interfere and you can only view one wireless camera at the same time.  My question is, in order to view all four of my cameras at once on my computer monitor, should I use a 4 channel DVR card that plugs into my PCI slot on my computer, or should I use a quad processor in conjuntion with the USB Video Capture Adapter (VA11A) for my (4) hardwired cameras.  I also plan on using AHP and Iwatch in conjuntion with everything and will have atleast two of the cams on the Ninja Robotic Camera Mounts .  What are some of the advantages or disadvantages.  I think one advantage right off of the bat with the DVR Card would be that they have the ability to compare frames and start recording video if movement is detected (difference in one frame to the next)

-Thanks in advance

Tuicemen

• Administrator
  • Helpful Post Rating: 282
  • I don't work for X10, I use it successfuly!
Re: DVR card or Quad Processor?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2007, 05:23:53 PM »

A DVR card won't work with the AHP video plugin!
So if you plan to view and use AHP to send the files via email or notify you some how it won't work :(
The Quad processor might be the way to go in that case!
Please Read Topic:
General Forum Etiquette
Before you post!

KDR

• Helpful Post Rating: 53
    • Home Automation Chat