Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Remote control switch for 2 speed 230V pump motor  (Read 3682 times)

GBM

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Remote control switch for 2 speed 230V pump motor
« on: July 07, 2007, 03:06:50 PM »

Hi All,

I'm new to home automation and need advice. My 1st project is a 2 speed 230V motor for a spa pump. I woulld like to install a remote to control the motor, off/on, Lo spd, Hi spd or perhaps just Hi and Lo spd.  It calls for a manual toggle switch located on the motor to control the speed. The motor is about 20 ft. from the spa. I queried X10 a while back with no response. Perhaps someone in the blogisphere can guide me to the appropriate X10 product if any.

Thanks,

GBM

steven r

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Halloween with X10
Re: Remote control switch for 2 speed 230V pump motor
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2007, 05:39:52 PM »

You're taking on big "1st project". That said, it is possible. You might want to search the forum for some of the drapery projects. I think a similar approach might work.

It will require some rewiring and you will need to approach it as 2 parts.
  • ON/OFF
  • LO/HIGH

To get you started thinking and till someone can come up with a drawing anyway, I suggest thinking in terms a relay controlled by an X10 module to replace the "LO/HIGH" function. You may need to do the same for the power also but you might be able to use a 220V module. Does anyone make a 220 volt inline switch?

BVC let's me tell my camera where to go!
:) Murphy is my beta testing pal. He helps me find problems whether I like it or not. :)

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2007, 06:32:47 PM »

Elk makes a heavy duty X10 signal controlled wired in device. 30 Amp so overkill for this project.
http://www.elkproducts.com/products/elk-9100.htm

steven r

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 74
  • Halloween with X10