Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote  (Read 28934 times)

frichmond1

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote
« on: October 06, 2007, 10:57:25 PM »

Does anyone have the answer to the UR74A not working or controling the new directv boxs

I understand it won't work at all.
 I tryed to get an answer from tech support X10 pro but didn't even get an answer.

If this is true why won't X10 Pro fix the problem or offer a new model that will work.

also how can I get X10 pro tech support to answer me.

Thanks
Logged

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 787
Re: UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2007, 08:07:03 AM »

Do you have the old version or the new version?

The old one uses 4 batteries.  The new one uses just 2 batteries.

The old one uses 3 digit code numbers.  The new one uses 4 digit code numbers.

The new one has 21 code sets for DirecTV.
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

frichmond1

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2007, 12:31:44 AM »

Do you have the old version or the new version?

The old one uses 4 batteries.  The new one uses just 2 batteries.

The old one uses 3 digit code numbers.  The new one uses 4 digit code numbers.

The new one has 21 code sets for DirecTV.

Thanks Walt2 I have the UR74A with 2 batteries I have been reading the posting and it seams that everyone can't  get the remote to work with the new boxes.

is there any other remote that can be used for both X10 (RF) and Directv box (IF)

thanks

Logged

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 787
Re: UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2007, 07:33:19 AM »

Wow, I am surprised that with X10 providing 21 choices, that none of them work.   :o

Someone really needs to whack DirecTV on the back of the head, firmly.   Explain to them they need to pick an IR standard and stick with it.

With 21 possible IR code choices, X10 is certainly making a  good, though vain, attempt at supporting DirecTV.  IMHO, the true fault goes to DirecTV on this one!
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 787
Re: UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2007, 07:35:57 AM »

... I have been reading the posting and it seams that everyone can't  get the remote to work with the new boxes.

I think that only you and I have the new UR74A.   ;D   All the postings I have read here, are from users with the old UR74A.
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

frichmond1

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 9
Re: UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2007, 05:36:31 PM »

... I have been reading the posting and it seams that everyone can't  get the remote to work with the new boxes.

I think that only you and I have the new UR74A.   ;D   All the postings I have read here, are from users with the old UR74A.

Thanks Walt2
I tryed another new universal remote with the Directv box.  Your wright it is a directv problem they want us to use their remote and only their remote.

But why can't I use the learning mode on the UR74A?  I tryed it and it won't work either.

I think I will try to contact directv and see what they say.

I want one remote to control my TV and my X10 lights without spending lots $$$$.

Thanks Again
Logged

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 787
Re: UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2007, 08:06:13 PM »


But why can't I use the learning mode on the UR74A?  I tryed it and it won't work either.


I wasn't even thinking of that.  Good question! 

You can't learn even a simple power on/off command?

BTW, can you have your UR74a learn anything?  I know that it is tricky, and takes some practice to get the technique down right.  I had to try, erase, try, and erase again, several times, before I finally got it right.
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).

Director

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 1
  • Posts: 2
Re: UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2008, 07:22:06 PM »

Anyone care to share those 21 codes that are supported?

Logged

Walt2

  • Advanced Member
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Helpful Post Rating: 28
  • Posts: 787
Re: UR74A 5 in 1 universal remote
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2008, 07:50:07 PM »

Anyone care to share those 21 codes that are supported?

They will only work on one the new (2-battery) version of the remote.
Logged
* Sears Home Control System, Radio Shack Plug 'n Power, NuTone, Stanley LightMaker, BSR, HomeLink.
* Tecmar Device Master, CP290 (LightHouse), CM11A (AH), CM14A (AH2), CM15A (AHPro).
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.