Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Does it matter which transciever I use?  (Read 4239 times)

OFG

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
Does it matter which transciever I use?
« on: September 25, 2007, 08:18:27 PM »

Newbie here, looking for a link or some direction.

I have several years experience in industrial controls, but I am brand new to the X10 scene.

I want to control a floor lamp from a switch on a solid brick wall.

I have a SS13A for the switch and an AM466 for the wall receptacle.

I have been reading the specs, and I believe I need either a RR501 or a TM751 transciever.
In looking at their dox, I have not been able to determine which one I should use -
I may be missing the obvious, after a lot of reading my bifocals are getting fuzzy!

Any recomendations or links where I should research this more?
Thanks in advance -

OFG  (OldFatGuy)

Puck

• Advanced Member
  • Helpful Post Rating: 171
Re: Does it matter which transciever I use?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2007, 08:25:32 PM »

Welcome to the forum OFG.

The TM751 & the RR501 will both work for what you want to do. The RR501 is a polite transceiver; meaning if it detects an X10 signal on the line it will not send a signal and cause a collision... the TM751 doesn't do this check, it just sends. For a single switch and lamp module, this would not be an issue.

The built in appliance module of the TM751 is fixed at Unit Code 1; the RR501 gives you 2 choices via a switch.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2007, 08:54:28 PM by Puck »

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2007, 07:05:58 AM »

One more point. The TM751 does not have a  power line receiver. So in addition to the not being polite as mentioned. It also can not be turned on or off by a powerline signal. Only an RF signal.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2007, 06:58:00 AM by Brian H »

OFG

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2007, 08:36:30 PM »