Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: X10 controlling only certain lights on a circuit?  (Read 3957 times)

kendall

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
X10 controlling only certain lights on a circuit?
« on: October 31, 2007, 03:12:14 PM »

Is it possible to control only certain lights on a circuit?  I have a switch at the office for example that controls the hallway lights and our demo room lights.  I am not able to do any physical structure changes to the space so I am unable to fix the wiring the way it should have been.  What I want to accomplish is to have the lights in the demo room turn off/on or dim if possible.

There are a total of 8 lights on the circuit, 4 of them are in the demo room.  So if possible I would like to find a device that wires into the lighting fixture portion itself to control the light.

Btw, I am an electrician so wiring isnt new to me, I just am very new to X10.

Brian H

• Community Organizer
  • Helpful Post Rating: 305
Re: X10 controlling only certain lights on a circuit?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2007, 04:19:28 PM »

X10Pro makes two modules to go into fixtures.
XPFM has a relay in it and does not to dimming, but can be used on low voltage and CFL type lights that do not work [normally] with a dimming module
XPDF is a dimming type of fixture module.
http://www.x10pro.com/

kendall

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2007, 04:34:03 PM »

This looks like it would control the whole circuit, not an individual light?

Maybe I am looking at the schematic wrong.

So lets assume I have a light switch with a HOT and switch leg up to my first light.

Lets assume that the 5th light is the one I want to control.

I would take the hot side of the power feeding the light into the XPDF and take another wire out of the XPDF into the light fixture.