Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: door sensor  (Read 2130 times)

dan0226

  • Newbie
  • Helpful Post Rating: 0
  • Posts: 1
door sensor
« on: December 16, 2007, 03:43:03 PM »

I need to come up with a wireless, battery operated door sensor which can transmit standard, x10 codes to a tm751 40 feet away. I have learned that a ds10 does not transmit standard x10 codes but rather "security codes" which the tm751 can't handle. I was thinking maybe I could butcher up a hr12a,tapping into one of the switches with a remote no or nc magnetic (reed) switch, but I don't have a hr12a and don't know what kind of switch mechanism is there. Any ideas?
Logged

Brian H

  • Community Organizer
  • Hero Member
  • ***
  • Helpful Post Rating: 298
  • Posts: 12981
Re: door sensor
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2007, 04:51:56 PM »

I am not too sure but many X10 devices have a grid on the PC Board and the rubber button has a conductive pad on the bottom that connects the two together.
I did a short test and if you don't do a momentary closure the HR12A will keep sending the X10 Address and X10 Command as long as the button is held on.
You may want to look at the following sites. Both have mods to change a motion sensor to a door/window sensor.
http://www.laureanno.com/index.html
http://www.idobartana.com/hakb/index.htm
« Last Edit: December 16, 2007, 04:58:00 PM by Brian H »
Logged

Charles Sullivan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Helpful Post Rating: 94
  • Posts: 1565
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: door sensor
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2007, 10:45:10 PM »

I need to come up with a wireless, battery operated door sensor which can transmit standard, x10 codes to a tm751 40 feet away. I have learned that a ds10 does not transmit standard x10 codes but rather "security codes" which the tm751 can't handle. I was thinking maybe I could butcher up a hr12a,tapping into one of the switches with a remote no or nc magnetic (reed) switch, but I don't have a hr12a and don't know what kind of switch mechanism is there. Any ideas?

Your best bet is to ditch the TM751 and replace it with a WGL V572RF32 (http://www.wgldesigns.com/v572.html).  In addition to being an all-housecode X10 transceiver with exceptional range, this transceiver also receives codes from X10 security devices like the DS10A and translates them into standard X10 powerline signals.

Download and install the V572RF32 software from the WGL website.  Although it won't actually do anything, you can see what options it offers about how the X10 security signals are translated.

Logged
Yesterday it worked.
Today it doesn't work.
X10 on Windows is like that.

HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OS X     http://www.heyu.org
 

X10.com | About X10 | X10 Security Systems | Cameras| Package Deals
© Copyright 2014-2016 X10.com All rights reserved.