Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: New to X10 - DS10A (Door/window sensor)  (Read 7917 times)

shadowhywind

• Helpful Post Rating: 0
New to X10 - DS10A (Door/window sensor)
« on: October 27, 2008, 03:55:04 PM »

Hi all, I am new to x10, So far I am loving it (my wallet on the other hand isn't to happy). My question
is I just ended up buying a DS10A and an RR501. However on some closer searching i found out that the RR501 can
not recieve the security signal from the DS10A is that correct? If so, is there any other product that i could pick up to either
translate the signal into the 'over the powerline' or to take the signal and translate it right into the computer? Also if it helps,
I am planning on buying a few more (motion sensors, security cameras, etc). So any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Charles Sullivan

• Helpful Post Rating: 94
    • HEYU - X10 Automation for Linux, Unix, and Mac OSX
Re: New to X10 - DS10A (Door/window sensor)
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2008, 05:32:03 PM »

Hi all, I am new to x10, So far I am loving it (my wallet on the other hand isn't to happy). My question
is I just ended up buying a DS10A and an RR501. However on some closer searching i found out that the RR501 can
not recieve the security signal from the DS10A is that correct? If so, is there any other product that i could pick up to either
translate the signal into the 'over the powerline' or to take the signal and translate it right into the computer? Also if it helps,
I am planning on buying a few more (motion sensors, security cameras, etc). So any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

ActiveHome Pro together with the OnAlert plugin can receive X10 security signals and trigger macros.  It requires that the PC be running.